• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Solved unable to go to desktop, refresh or reset windows8 laptop


haroldg

Member
Member
Posts
50
#61
how will you know if the Factory Image is still registered

how will you know if the Factory Image is still registered??

Mr. Saltgrass help me in my problem on my laptop when it was on its unbootable stage..
and said i must check the reagentc /info listing to see if the Factory image is still registered.
but how will i know..

i think hes busy right now to answer so i'd just created a thread if someone can answer..

Thanks in advance!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    ASUS x202e
    CPU
    intel celeron
    Memory
    500
    Graphics Card(s)
    4g ddr
    Browser
    iE, chrome
    Antivirus
    avast

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Posts
23,990
#62
Hello Harold,

A factory image is different than a custom recovery image.

  • A custom recovery image only contains the desktop apps you've installed, and the Windows system files in their current state. It'll restore these items of Windows back to how they were for when the custom recovery image was created.
  • I factory image is what's used to restore Windows back to factory default conditions.

That command will show if you have an active registered custom recovery image or not, and what it's location is if you do. If that's the one you created and registered, then you're good to go to have it used whenever you refresh Windows next.

http://www.eightforums.com/tutorial...splay-path-current-active-recovery-image.html

Hope this helps, :)
Shawn
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone

haroldg

Member
Member
Posts
50
#63
Thanks Mr. Brink!!

Mr. Brink..have you seen my thread about unable to go to desktop??
i put the result there when i use reagentc \info on my cmd prompt..

can you tell if i still have the factory image??

i dont know yet how to post link here to my thread..

Thanks Mr. Brink..
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    ASUS x202e
    CPU
    intel celeron
    Memory
    500
    Graphics Card(s)
    4g ddr
    Browser
    iE, chrome
    Antivirus
    avast

haroldg

Member
Member
Posts
50
#64
My recovery image location: --none---
Recovery Image Index: 0
Custom image location: --none—
Custom Image Index: 0

Does this mean I don’t have the factory image or recovery image??
 

Attachments

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    ASUS x202e
    CPU
    intel celeron
    Memory
    500
    Graphics Card(s)
    4g ddr
    Browser
    iE, chrome
    Antivirus
    avast

haroldg

Member
Member
Posts
50
#65
Mr. saltgrass... as i analyze clearly the procedure.. i think i do not have the FACTORY RESET IMAGE.

if i trigger this command

reagentc /setosimage /path R:\RecoveryImage /index 2


will it do the work??


can you provide a detailed procedure mr saltgrass? about the assign letter="R", just use REMOVE??
what i am worrry next is that what if it happens again and there is no Factory Reset Image.




Thanks for you support!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    ASUS x202e
    CPU
    intel celeron
    Memory
    500
    Graphics Card(s)
    4g ddr
    Browser
    iE, chrome
    Antivirus
    avast

Saltgrass

New Member
Pro User
Posts
1,121
#66
Yes, the command you indicate should re-register the image, if the drive letter R: is still on the partition.

If the drive letter has been removed, put it back temporarily to complete the command then remove it using the "Remove" option in Diskpart as indicated in the instructions in post #11.

To remove a Drive letter, you use Diskpart, select the Drive, then select the partition, then simply type Remove, which will remove the drive letter after you have re-registered the image.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Grown
    CPU
    i7 3770K
    Motherboard
    ASUS P8Z77 -v Pro, Z87-Expert
    Memory
    16 G
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 680 Classified (2)
    Hard Drives
    Kingston SSD 240 GB

Saltgrass

New Member
Pro User
Posts
1,121
#67
I just noticed your Recovery Tools registration seems to say it is pointing at partition 6. It should be pointing at partition 1. I have not seen that happen in any of my tests. Make sure and keep the setreimage and setosimage commands separate. There is an error in the help file for reagentc regarding this. This is assuming you have not changed your partition configuration on the drive. If you have updated to 8.1, it may have been changed.

To register the Windows Tools image you need to use the command below after putting a drive letter on that partition of say T:

reagentc /setreimage /path T:\Recovery\{some GUID Number}

You can try using the GUID number shown in the reagentc readout you posted. But it should look like the one below.

Windows RE status: Enabled
Windows RE location: \\?\GLOBALROOT\device\harddisk0\partition1\Recovery\20aa6f62-d226-11e3-9510-a21b36ea8e97
Boot Configuration Data (BCD) identifier: 20aa6f62-d226-11e3-9510-a21b36ea8e97
Recovery image location: \\?\GLOBALROOT\device\harddisk0\partition6\RecoveryImage
Recovery image index: 2
Custom image location:
Custom image index: 0
Basically do the same thing with partition 1 as you did with partition 6.

DISKPART> sel par 1

Partition 1 is now the selected partition.

DISKPART> assign letter="T"

DiskPart successfully assigned the drive letter or mount point.

DISKPART> exit

Leaving DiskPart...

C:\WINDOWS\system32>dir /a t:
Volume in drive T is Recovery
Volume Serial Number is 1CD0-2083

Directory of T:\

05/02/2014 12:26 PM <DIR> Recovery
05/18/2014 02:04 PM <DIR> System Volume Information
0 File(s) 0 bytes
2 Dir(s) 81,371,136 bytes free


C:\WINDOWS\system32>dir /a T:\recovery
Volume in drive T is Recovery
Volume Serial Number is 1CD0-2083

Directory of T:\recovery

05/02/2014 12:26 PM <DIR> .
05/02/2014 12:26 PM <DIR> ..
05/02/2014 02:26 PM <DIR> 20aa6f5d-d226-11e3-9510-a21b36ea8e97
0 File(s) 0 bytes
3 Dir(s) 81,371,136 bytes free


reagentc /setreimage /path T:\Recovery\20aa6f5d-d226-11e3-9510-a21b36ea8e97

C:\WINDOWS\system32>diskpart

Microsoft DiskPart version 6.3.9600

Copyright (C) 1999-2013 Microsoft Corporation.
On computer: SEEKER

DISKPART> sel dis 0

Disk 0 is now the selected disk.

DISKPART> sel par 1

Partition 1 is now the selected partition.

DISKPART> remove

DiskPart successfully removed the drive letter or mount point.
Use your GUID number in place of mine. You can copy in a Command Prompt, just right click and select Mark, highlight the item, and right click again. To paste, right click and select paste and the item will be placed at the cursor.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Grown
    CPU
    i7 3770K
    Motherboard
    ASUS P8Z77 -v Pro, Z87-Expert
    Memory
    16 G
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 680 Classified (2)
    Hard Drives
    Kingston SSD 240 GB
#68

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1.1 Pro with Media Center
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gateway
    CPU
    AMD K140 Cores 2 Threads 2 Name AMD K140 Package Socket FT1 BGA Technology 40nm
    Motherboard
    Manufacturer Gateway Model SX2110G (P0)
    Memory
    Type DDR3 Size 8192 MBytes DRAM Frequency 532.3 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    AMD High Definition Audio Device Realtek High Definition Audio USB Audio Device
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Name 1950W on AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x76
    Screen Resolution
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Hard Drives
    AMD K140
    Cores 2
    Threads 2
    Name AMD K140
    Package Socket FT1 BGA
    Technology 40nm
    Specification AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 14
    Model 2
    Extended Model 2
    Stepping 0
    Revision ON-C0
    Instruction
    Browser
    Opera 24.0
    Antivirus
    Avast Internet Security

Saltgrass

New Member
Pro User
Posts
1,121
#69
I thought I would give you another picture. Since your last attachment was a photograph, you should know, you can open an Administrative Command prompt in Windows and use the snipping tool to capture a portion of the desktop.
 

Attachments

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Grown
    CPU
    i7 3770K
    Motherboard
    ASUS P8Z77 -v Pro, Z87-Expert
    Memory
    16 G
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 680 Classified (2)
    Hard Drives
    Kingston SSD 240 GB

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)