How to Close Your Microsoft Account

information   Information
"Microsoft account" is the new name for what used to be called a "Windows Live ID." Your Microsoft account is the combination of an email address and a password that you use to sign in to services like Hotmail, Messenger/Skype, SkyDrive, Windows Phone, Xbox LIVE, Zune, Office Live, and Outlook.com. You can also use a Microsoft account to sign in to any PC running Windows 8, access files and photos anywhere, sync settings, and more in Windows 8.

If you no longer want or need your Microsoft account, then this tutorial will show you how to close your Microsoft account to delete your account information, including your ID and password, your registered information, and your contacts. After you delete an account, you can't use that Microsoft account anymore to sign in to Window 8 and Microsoft products and services.

Note   Note
What happens to my info when I close this Microsoft account?

  • Your user name, password, and account profile will be permanently deleted.
  • You won't be able to sign in to Hotmail, Xbox LIVE, or anywhere else that you used this account as an ID.
  • You will lose access to your Messenger and Hotmail contacts.
  • You won't be able to manage any child accounts associated with this Microsoft account. If you manage a child's Microsoft account with Family Safety, the child's Microsoft account permissions will be revoked if you close your Microsoft account.
  • You won't receive any newsletters, updates, or free subscriptions associated with this account.

warning   Warning
Before you close this Microsoft account

  • If you've used this Microsoft account as an ID with other websites or services, sign into those sites and services and delete your personal info first. You won't be able to access it after you close this account.
  • If you have a Hotmail Plus, Xbox Live, or other subscription, cancel that subscription before you close your Microsoft account.
  • If you use this Microsoft account to sign in to Windows 8, then you need to first either switch to a local account or add a new user account to use instead. If you do not, then you will not be able to sign in Windows 8 with this Microsoft account after it is closed.
  • If you have a Microsoft account as a user account in Windows 8, then closing your Microsoft account doesn't delete the account it in Windows 8.




Here's How:

1. Go to the Microsoft account overview webpage.

2. If not already, sign in to the Microsoft account you want to close. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

3. If this PC or device is not a trusted device, then you will be prompted to enter and submit a security code sent to your phone or alternate email address. (see screenshots below)

Click image for larger version Click image for larger version

4. Click/tap on Close account. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

5. Verify that this is the correct Microsoft account you want to close, enter your Microsoft account password, and click/tap on Next. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version


6. Do step 7 or 8 below depending on what email address you used with your Microsoft account.


7. If you used outlook.com, hotmail.com, live.com

A) Click/tap on deactivate your Hotmail account. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

B) Click/tap on Deactivate account. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

C) Your email account has now been deactivated. Your Microsoft account will be closed automatically after a period of inactivity. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

8. If you used any other email address

A) Your Microsoft account has now been closed, but your email address is still good. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version




That's it,
Shawn


Related Tutorials