Play games in windows 8 in fast...

AnandVIVEK

New Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
1
Location
India
How to play games faster with window 8 .¿
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Ultimate
    Name
    Anand Vivek Satpathi
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Biostar G31+
    CPU
    Acer
    Motherboard
    Biostar G31+
    Memory
    4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel ® G31 G33 Express Chipset
    Sound Card
    Realtek High Defination Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    1080i HD Display
    Screen Resolution
    1600 × 900
    Hard Drives
    20GB
    Case
    Acer
    Keyboard
    Acer
    Mouse
    Acer
    Internet Speed
    2kbps
    Country Flag
    India

Dwarf

The Contemplator, (1963-2013)
Moderator
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
638
Location
Doncaster, UK
Care to elaborate? What do you mean? If you mean the speed of the built-in games and/or others when you have the OS installed as a virtual machine (VM), then you should find an improvement if you install the OS directly onto a HDD (i.e. not as a VM). Remember, however, that this is still pre-Beta software and as such may run better with certain hardware configurations compared to others and that much of the code may not be fully optimised.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro RTM x64
    Name
    Guy
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dwarf Dwf/11/2012 r09/2013
    CPU
    Intel Core-i5-3570K 4-core @ 3.4GHz (Ivy Bridge) (OC 4.2GHz)
    Motherboard
    ASRock Z77 Extreme4-M
    Memory
    4 x 4GB DDR3-1600 Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B (16GB)
    Graphics Card(s)
    MSI GeForce GTX770 Gaming OC 2GB
    Sound Card
    Realtek High Definition on board solution (ALC 898)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    ViewSonic VA1912w Widescreen
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900
    Hard Drives
    OCZ Agility 3 120GB SATA III x2 (RAID 0)
    Samsung HD501LJ 500GB SATA II x2
    Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 1TB SATA II
    Iomega 1.5TB Ext USB 2.0
    WD 2.0TB Ext USB 3.0
    PSU
    XFX Pro Series 850W Semi-Modular
    Occupation
    Library Caretaker
    Case
    Gigabyte IF233
    Cooling
    1 x 120mm Front Inlet 1 x 120mm Rear Exhaust
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Comfort Curve Keyboard 3000 (USB)
    Mouse
    Microsoft Comfort Mouse 3000 for Business (USB)
    Internet Speed
    NetGear DG834Gv3 ADSL Modem/Router (Ethernet) ~4.0 Mb/sec (O2)
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Avast! 8.0.1497 MalwareBytes 1.75.0.1300
    Other Info
    Optical Drive: HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH10LS30 SATA Bluray
    Lexmark S305 Printer/Scanner/Copier (USB)
    WEI Score: 8.1/8.1/8.5/8.5/8.25
    Asus Eee PC 1011PX Netbook (Windows 7 x86 Starter)
    Country Flag
    England
    State/Region Flag
    uk yorkshire

RST101

Buzzin......
VIP Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
19
Location
Ellesmere Port, U.K
This build seems to be better at playing games, the last one stuttered a lot but not noticed any on this.

It's way to early to come to any conclusion.........
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 7 Ultimate x64
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Poetry In Motion
    CPU
    i5 760 @4.2
    Motherboard
    GA-H55m-ud2
    Memory
    4gig Corsair @1600mhz.
    Graphics Card(s)
    Gigabyte GTX560Ti soc
    Sound Card
    Xfi XtremeMusic
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Acer 22" LCD Wide screen - Samsung 42 Plasma.n - 1080p HD.
    Screen Resolution
    1920-1080p.
    Hard Drives
    2x 2 Tb seagate
    1x 500 Seagate,
    1x 640WD Black,
    2x16 Gig sandisc flash drive,
    1x8Gig sandisc flash drive.
    PSU
    XigmaTek 700w dual 30amp
    Case
    Venus Gaming Case with digital fan control
    Cooling
    Arctic Pro 7v2
    Keyboard
    Logitech G15-v2 Gaming.
    Mouse
    Microsoft Sidewinder X8
    Internet Speed
    50mb
    Other Info
    Xbox 360 wireless controller and headset...

    Logitech Quick cam pro 9000...
    Country Flag
    UK

grisfiske

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2011
Messages
5
Hi! When I play F1 2010 in DX11 I cant get GFWL to work, or I hear that it pop up but is invisible. DX9 no problems. This error happens in both 7955 and 7959 though not in 7850, does anyone here know what could cause it ?

thx
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8 beta

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
I'm playing Crysis (DX10) in maximum quality with no probs in build 7955. Excellent performance! :)
~edit~
I'm gonna install Crysis 2 and Lost Planet 2 (DX11) and report results here later :ninja:
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Lost Planet 2 (DX11) runs quite smoothly, but performance isn't as good as in Windows 7. I have a Radeon HD6870, but Windows 8 installed a driver that says Radeon HD57xx Engineering Sample. I tryed the latest ATi drivers but they don't install... I think it's because of the driver model that in Windows 8 is WDDM 1.2.

:huh:
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

grisfiske

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2011
Messages
5
F1 2010 DX11 works great here too, just that I cant get GFWL to work so I cant see my friends.. But no performance or graphics bug in the game in the later builds.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8 beta

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Crysis 2 DX9 works fine with hardcore settings in a 1600x1050 resolution, no probs at all ! :)

Crysis 2.jpg

:)
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Need for Speed SHIFT 2 Unleashed (DX9):

Runs perfectly at maximum quality with no probs and with no performance loss compared to Windows 7.

:)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
FarCry 2 (DX9 / DX10):

Runs perfectly in DX9, but sometimes mouse stops working in DX10 mode, even in Vista compatibility mode. :huh:
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Most Win7 drivers must work, but 'cause of the new kernel in 7955 ATi Catalyst from v10.3 to v11.4 doesnt work (11.5 works fine)

:)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

severedsolo

Windows Junkie
VIP Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
85
Location
Norwich, UK
Flight Simulator 2004 (Fs9) works, but it seems to mess with the DWM when it exits, the Taskbar animations stop working, and it looks like an open app is closed, and vice versa, basically they get "frozen" as they were when the game was exited, a quick logoff/logon fixes that though.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Pro
    Name
    Martin Joy
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-built
    CPU
    2nd Gen Intel Core i5 2500k
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Z86a-d3-b3
    Memory
    8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Crucial DIMM
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX 460 (Gygabite OC)
    Sound Card
    Realtek On board sound
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Acer Al1980 + Generic non brand Monitor
    Screen Resolution
    1280*1024 + 1366*768
    Hard Drives
    1TB Sata III Cavier Green
    500GB SATA II WD Caviar Blue
    160GB SATA II Hitachi
    PSU
    Corsair Extreme
    Occupation
    Suspense Wizard
    Case
    Cooler Master HAF-X
    Cooling
    HAF-X cooling (1 exhaust, 1 front, 1 side, 1 top fan)
    Keyboard
    Logitech Wireless
    Mouse
    Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    12.5 Mb/s down 1.2 (ish) M/b up (ADSL2+)
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Country Flag
    UK
    State/Region Flag
    uk england

kbronski

Member
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
60
Most Win7 drivers must work, but 'cause of the new kernel in 7955 ATi Catalyst from v10.3 to v11.4 doesnt work (11.5 works fine)

:)

I think my ATI Catalyst may be 11.4 <.< I can't install my graphics driver on it. But, it makes sense at least.

Also, my IDT beats audio installed but I can't open the control panel for it. In fact, none of my drivers installed. o.o
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7 Professional x64
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Me? Model number... seven? two?
    CPU
    Intel Core i7-5820k
    Motherboard
    ASUS X99-A
    Memory
    16GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 (4x4GB)
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA Geforce GTX 970 SC
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 850 EVO 250GB x2; Seagate Barracuda 3.5" 7200RPM 2TB; Toshiba 2.5" 750GB 5400RPM
    PSU
    Corsair RM750
    Case
    Fractal Design Define R5
    Cooling
    Noctua NH-D15
    Other Info
    Yup, it's a computer!

Shuren Inferno

Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
32
mostly its about drivers problems not windows 8 because its a new beautiful OS
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    Memory
    2GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    ge force 9500gt
    Screen Resolution
    1366X768
    Internet Speed
    60 KB/S
    Browser
    internet explore

DanRex

Skilled Troublemaker
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
48
Location
Pargas, Finland

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Pro 64-Bit with Media Center
    Name
    Daniel
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP Pavilion Phoenix H9-1060sc
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 (2nd Gen) 2600 / 3.4 GHz
    Motherboard
    IPISB-CH2 (Chicago)
    Memory
    16 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 580
    Sound Card
    Integrated IDT 92HD89E Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung 23" SyncMaster SA750D
    Screen Resolution
    1920 x 1080
    Hard Drives
    120 GB Solid State & 2 TB 7200 RPM 3.0 Gb/sec
    PSU
    Internal 600 Watt (100V-240V)
    Case
    HP Tower: Height: 41.3 cm Width: 17.3 cm
    Country Flag
    Finland
    State/Region Flag
    european union

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top