Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 22,577

How to Add or Remove Wireless Adapter Settings "Power Saving Mode" in Windows


information   Information
The "Power Saving Mode" option under the Wireless Adapter Settings section is used to configure how much power you want to save when using your wireless network card. There are four types of power saving modes available: Maximum Performance, Low, Medium and Maximum Power Saving. Your wireless network performance goes down with higher power savings. For example, choosing "Maximum Power Saving" will cause your wireless network connection to function at lower speeds.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove "Power Saving Mode" under Wireless Adapter Settings in Power Options for all users in Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to do the steps in this tutorial.


EXAMPLE: Wireless Adapter Settings "Power Saving Mode" in Power Options

Name:  Wireless_Adapter_Settings_Power-Options.jpg
Views: 14861
Size:  80.3 KB



Here's How:

Note   Note
The .reg files below are for the registry key and value below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\19cbb8fa-5279-450e-9fac-8a3d5fedd0c1\12bbebe6-58d6-4636-95bb-3217ef867c1a

Attributes DWORD

1 = Remove
2 = Add



1. Do step 2 or 3 below for what you would like to do.


2. Add Wireless Adapter Settings "Power Saving Mode" to Power Options
NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Add_Power_Saving_Mode_in_Wireless_Adapter_settings.reg

download

3. Remove Wireless Adapter Settings "Power Saving Mode" from Power Options

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Remove_Power_Saving_Mode_in_Wireless_Adapter_settings.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. If prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. When finished, you can delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.



That's it,
Shawn


Related Tutorials