Published by


Brink's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 22,575

How to Add or Remove "Turn off hard disk after" in Power Options in Windows


information   Information
The "Turn off hard disk after" power option setting lets users set to have hard disks power down after a specified time of inactivity is detected.

When you set to turn off hard disks after idle, there will be a brief delay of a few seconds when you try to access a turned off hard disk as it spins back up and is turned back on automatically as needed. Having your hard disks to be turned off after being idle can help save energy and extend a PC's battery life.

This tutorial will show you how to add or remove the "Turn off hard disk after" setting under Sleep in Power Options for all users in Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8.

You must be signed in as an administrator to be able to do the steps in this tutorial.

Note   Note
This could be handy if you wanted to set this how you wanted, then remove the setting to prevent other users from being able to change it in Power Options.


EXAMPLE: "Turn off hard disk after" in Power Options

Name:  Turn_off_hard_disk_after.png
Views: 10815
Size:  31.6 KB




Here's How:

Note   Note
The .reg files below are for the registry key and value below.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\6738e2c4-e8a5-4a42-b16a-e040e769756e

Attributes DWORD

1 = Remove
2 = Add



1. Do step 2 or 3 below for what you would like to do.


2. To Remove "Turn off hard disk after" from Power Options

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Remove_Turn_off_hard_disk_after.reg

download

3. To Add "Turn off hard disk after" to Power Options
NOTE: This is the default setting.

A) Click/tap on the Download button below to download the file below, and go to step 4 below.

Add_Turn_off_hard_disk_after.reg

download

4. Save the .reg file to your desktop.

5. Double click/tap on the downloaded .reg file to merge it.

6. If prompted, click/tap on Run, Yes (UAC Windows 7/8) or Continue (UAC Vista), Yes, and OK to approve the merge.

7. When finished, you can delete the downloaded .reg file if you like.



That's it,
Shawn


Related Tutorials