What's new

"You've been signed in with a temporary profile": data?

Filler Dmon

New Member
I suppose this is yet another reminder that if one does not continuously back up saved information, they will regret it.

My laptop has been, against my will, trying to update itself to Windows 8.1. It has been going through multiple installations, rendering it completely inopperable for hours. Then the power goes out on it. And it does a bunch of other things, possibly including system restore. I'll be entirely honest; it's 11 Am right now, and most of this was apparently happening at 4-6, with very little input on my end about it.

Right now, I try to get to my desktop, and most of my files I keep there are completely gone. I fee that a few of the programs that I frequently used and installed stuck around, though, so I had faith that I could get them back some how. Then I see the window in the bottom corner, saying the thread title quote. I did search and found this link, which claims to be a fix. But the first thing I notice is that it says it will delete the corrupted user profile. And since I'm the only user, and that's all of my files, information, and data at risk, I have quite a vested interest in not letting all of that be deleted.

The short stick of the situation: any chance I can find a way to fix this issue and just get things back to the way they were without it deleting all of my stuff? A thought occurs that the data I seek to save and they profiles may be entirely separate from each other, but I sure as heck want to be sure of this before I make a mistake and find myself throwing the laptop out of my window in anger and permanently swearing off Windows out of sheer anger.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7/8

Ztruker

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
You do the following so you don't lose your data:

2. Back up anything that you do not want to lose in the C:\Users\(user-name) profile folder (ex: Brink) of the affected user account to another location. When finished, delete the C:\Users\(user-name) folder.

.......

12. If successful, the affected account's (ex: Brink) user profile will be recreated and no longer receives the error. You can then copy any files you want back from the back up created at step 2.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Lenovo IdeaCenter K450
    CPU
    Intel Quad Core i7-4770 @ 3.4Ghz
    Motherboard
    Lenovo
    Memory
    16.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel Integrated HD Graphics
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    HP h2207
    Screen Resolution
    [email protected]
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung EVO SATA-3 SSD;
    2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 SATA-2;
    1.5TB Seagate ST3150041AS SATA
    PSU
    500W
    Keyboard
    Wired USB
    Mouse
    Wired USB
    Internet Speed
    3GB Up, 30GB Down
    Browser
    SeaMonkey
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender; MBAM Pro
    Other Info
    UEFI/GPT
    PLDS DVD-RW DH16AERSH

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top