Windows Explorer crashes and restarts randomly

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7
Hi,

I have Windows 8.1 running on my Acer Aspire V3-772G. Windows explorer crashes randomly, and restarts instantly. Various solutions on the internet are for problems where explorer crashes due to a specific task such as accessing some programs. In my case, it is just random and occurs once in a while. Help me out!

Thanks in advance!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

David Bailey

Banned
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
10,485
Location
Harrisonburg, Va.

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1.1 Pro with Media Center
    Name
    David A. Bailey
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gateway
    CPU
    AMD K140 Cores 2 Threads 2 Name AMD K140 Package Socket FT1 BGA Technology 40nm
    Motherboard
    Manufacturer Gateway Model SX2110G (P0)
    Memory
    Type DDR3 Size 8192 MBytes DRAM Frequency 532.3 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    AMD High Definition Audio Device Realtek High Definition Audio USB Audio Device
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Name 1950W on AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x76
    Screen Resolution
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Hard Drives
    AMD K140
    Cores 2
    Threads 2
    Name AMD K140
    Package Socket FT1 BGA
    Technology 40nm
    Specification AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 14
    Model 2
    Extended Model 2
    Stepping 0
    Revision ON-C0
    Instruction
    Occupation
    Trying to live a good life before I die.
    Browser
    Opera 24.0
    Antivirus
    Avast Internet Security
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us virginia

caperjack

Just the Janitor
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
2,627

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    win8.1.1 enterprise
    Name
    jack
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hinze57
    CPU
    AMD FX 6100 6core 3.30gHz
    Motherboard
    gigibyte ga-78lmy-s2p
    Memory
    4gig ddr3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radon hd5000 Series
    Sound Card
    onboard realtek hd
    Monitor(s) Displays
    19" viewsonic/ 22"Samsung
    Screen Resolution
    1680x1050
    Hard Drives
    128gig ssd Kingston
    80gig WD 10000 rpm spinner
    Occupation
    janitor/maintenece
    Case
    micro
    Keyboard
    microsoft curve 200
    Mouse
    Logitech wireless M215
    Internet Speed
    high speed 20
    Browser
    ie 11
    Antivirus
    windows defender
    Other Info
    updated enterprise apr 2/14
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca novia scotia

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7

Checking for updates doesn't give up any errors. Works fine.

try turning off the restart on error option and maybe it will give the error on screen ,follow info in link
FAQ ID # 59175 - How do I disable Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) automatic restart in Windows?

I'm afraid it isn't about BSOD. Just the file explorer crashes leaving me with the desktop wallpaper for a second. Then they come up back again. Any open windows and file transfers that I had running would be closed, leaving me a fresh desktop! :/
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

caperjack

Just the Janitor
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
2,627

Checking for updates doesn't give up any errors. Works fine.

try turning off the restart on error option and maybe it will give the error on screen ,follow info in link
FAQ ID # 59175 - How do I disable Blue Screen of Death (BSOD) automatic restart in Windows?

I'm afraid it isn't about BSOD. Just the file explorer crashes leaving me with the desktop wallpaper for a second. Then they come up back again. Any open windows and file transfers that I had running would be closed, leaving me a fresh desktop! :/
sorry, I thought you meant the computer restarted ,
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    win8.1.1 enterprise
    Name
    jack
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hinze57
    CPU
    AMD FX 6100 6core 3.30gHz
    Motherboard
    gigibyte ga-78lmy-s2p
    Memory
    4gig ddr3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radon hd5000 Series
    Sound Card
    onboard realtek hd
    Monitor(s) Displays
    19" viewsonic/ 22"Samsung
    Screen Resolution
    1680x1050
    Hard Drives
    128gig ssd Kingston
    80gig WD 10000 rpm spinner
    Occupation
    janitor/maintenece
    Case
    micro
    Keyboard
    microsoft curve 200
    Mouse
    Logitech wireless M215
    Internet Speed
    high speed 20
    Browser
    ie 11
    Antivirus
    windows defender
    Other Info
    updated enterprise apr 2/14
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca novia scotia

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7
Well I guessed that. Only the file explorer crashes, and other programs that are open are left undisturbed.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

caperjack

Just the Janitor
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
2,627
Only the file explorer crashes, and other programs that are open are left undisturbed.

maybe you guessed this already too,lol.
but, right click on the start icon and go to computer management ,and open up event viewer ,and have a look for errors,might lead to a driver or device causing the reboot and freeze
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    win8.1.1 enterprise
    Name
    jack
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hinze57
    CPU
    AMD FX 6100 6core 3.30gHz
    Motherboard
    gigibyte ga-78lmy-s2p
    Memory
    4gig ddr3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radon hd5000 Series
    Sound Card
    onboard realtek hd
    Monitor(s) Displays
    19" viewsonic/ 22"Samsung
    Screen Resolution
    1680x1050
    Hard Drives
    128gig ssd Kingston
    80gig WD 10000 rpm spinner
    Occupation
    janitor/maintenece
    Case
    micro
    Keyboard
    microsoft curve 200
    Mouse
    Logitech wireless M215
    Internet Speed
    high speed 20
    Browser
    ie 11
    Antivirus
    windows defender
    Other Info
    updated enterprise apr 2/14
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca novia scotia

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7
:D
will do that first thing when the crash happens again. And is there any option that helps me to look at errors specific to the explorer crash? Like any search terms?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7
Well this is what I got from Event Viewer, after the crash. Googled QtCore_Ad_SyncNs_4.dll and found that to be Autodesk 360(cloud service). Will try disabling it. Any other solutions?

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 4/28/2014 1:54:42 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Swathibalan
Description:
Faulting application name: explorer.exe, version: 6.3.9600.17039, time stamp: 0x53156588
Faulting module name: QtCore_Ad_SyncNs_4.dll_unloaded, version: 4.8.2.0, time stamp: 0x50d3fca7
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000265fe
Faulting process id: 0x14a4
Faulting application start time: 0x01cf62b0e6107a96
Faulting application path: C:\Windows\explorer.exe
Faulting module path: QtCore_Ad_SyncNs_4.dll
Report Id: 8b8e2867-ceae-11e3-82aa-54bef78202aa
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2014-04-28T08:24:42.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>20706</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Swathibalan</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>explorer.exe</Data>
<Data>6.3.9600.17039</Data>
<Data>53156588</Data>
<Data>QtCore_Ad_SyncNs_4.dll_unloaded</Data>
<Data>4.8.2.0</Data>
<Data>50d3fca7</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00000000000265fe</Data>
<Data>14a4</Data>
<Data>01cf62b0e6107a96</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\explorer.exe</Data>
<Data>QtCore_Ad_SyncNs_4.dll</Data>
<Data>8b8e2867-ceae-11e3-82aa-54bef78202aa</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

caperjack

Just the Janitor
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
2,627
no solutions fro me , but after you disable it maybe search for a solution from Autodesk
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    win8.1.1 enterprise
    Name
    jack
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hinze57
    CPU
    AMD FX 6100 6core 3.30gHz
    Motherboard
    gigibyte ga-78lmy-s2p
    Memory
    4gig ddr3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radon hd5000 Series
    Sound Card
    onboard realtek hd
    Monitor(s) Displays
    19" viewsonic/ 22"Samsung
    Screen Resolution
    1680x1050
    Hard Drives
    128gig ssd Kingston
    80gig WD 10000 rpm spinner
    Occupation
    janitor/maintenece
    Case
    micro
    Keyboard
    microsoft curve 200
    Mouse
    Logitech wireless M215
    Internet Speed
    high speed 20
    Browser
    ie 11
    Antivirus
    windows defender
    Other Info
    updated enterprise apr 2/14
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca novia scotia

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

hawkman

New Member
Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2014
Messages
155
explorer crash

Hi Greg,
just some info, got my first explorer crash, see screenshot,
NOT worried about it, cleared by running the 2 system checks below,
thou my point the easiest way to find it
turn off microsoft reporting it will then appear as a message in action centre.

Would suggest you run sfc /scannow, followed by Dism, this should clear any errors,

Roy
 

Attachments

  • crash.PNG
    crash.PNG
    18.5 KB · Views: 111

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    x55a asus
    Antivirus
    bitdefender
    Other Info
    this laptop was/is still posted on asus website as W7
    Country Flag
    UK

caperjack

Just the Janitor
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
2,627
no solutions fro me , but after you disable it maybe search for a solution from Autodesk

Will try that and post an update!
I just read some info in a google search and the people having same issue as you said that audocad/audodesk360 know about the problem ,one person uninstalled audodesk360 and it fixed his issue ,the thread was from april of last year .
My explorer.exe error twice on an hour, how fix it? - Microsoft Community
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    win8.1.1 enterprise
    Name
    jack
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hinze57
    CPU
    AMD FX 6100 6core 3.30gHz
    Motherboard
    gigibyte ga-78lmy-s2p
    Memory
    4gig ddr3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radon hd5000 Series
    Sound Card
    onboard realtek hd
    Monitor(s) Displays
    19" viewsonic/ 22"Samsung
    Screen Resolution
    1680x1050
    Hard Drives
    128gig ssd Kingston
    80gig WD 10000 rpm spinner
    Occupation
    janitor/maintenece
    Case
    micro
    Keyboard
    microsoft curve 200
    Mouse
    Logitech wireless M215
    Internet Speed
    high speed 20
    Browser
    ie 11
    Antivirus
    windows defender
    Other Info
    updated enterprise apr 2/14
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca novia scotia

caperjack

Just the Janitor
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
2,627
Hi Greg,
just some info, got my first explorer crash, see screenshot,
NOT worried about it, cleared by running the 2 system checks below,
thou my point the easiest way to find it
turn off microsoft reporting it will then appear as a message in action centre.

Would suggest you run sfc /scannow, followed by Dism, this should clear any errors,

Roy
yeah ,he already ran sfc I think ,it was suggested in the second post anyway , it fixed yours because you issue file DEVRLT.Dll is a windows system file ,and Greg9's problem file is from autocad file
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    win8.1.1 enterprise
    Name
    jack
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hinze57
    CPU
    AMD FX 6100 6core 3.30gHz
    Motherboard
    gigibyte ga-78lmy-s2p
    Memory
    4gig ddr3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radon hd5000 Series
    Sound Card
    onboard realtek hd
    Monitor(s) Displays
    19" viewsonic/ 22"Samsung
    Screen Resolution
    1680x1050
    Hard Drives
    128gig ssd Kingston
    80gig WD 10000 rpm spinner
    Occupation
    janitor/maintenece
    Case
    micro
    Keyboard
    microsoft curve 200
    Mouse
    Logitech wireless M215
    Internet Speed
    high speed 20
    Browser
    ie 11
    Antivirus
    windows defender
    Other Info
    updated enterprise apr 2/14
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca novia scotia

greg9

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
7
I just read some info in a google search and the people having same issue as you said that audocad/audodesk360 know about the problem ,one person uninstalled audodesk360 and it fixed his issue ,the thread was from april of last year .
My explorer.exe error twice on an hour, how fix it? - Microsoft Community

Yeah I have uninstalled Autodesk 360. Will wait for a week and post the status.

Hi Greg,
just some info, got my first explorer crash, see screenshot,
NOT worried about it, cleared by running the 2 system checks below,
thou my point the easiest way to find it
turn off microsoft reporting it will then appear as a message in action centre.

Would suggest you run sfc /scannow, followed by Dism, this should clear any errors,

Roy

This is what came up with sfc /scannow. sfc.JPG

And my CBS Log. View attachment New Text Document.txt
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 pro 64 bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer/Aspire V3-772G
    CPU
    Inter Core i7 4702MQ
    Memory
    12GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GeForce GTX760M
    Screen Resolution
    1920*1080

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top