• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Windows Diagnostic Tool (WDT)


Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#1
WDT has all the functionality as current scripts here - with the additional functionality of:

- Activation backup and restore - the former is only available on activated systems whilst the later only on unactivated systems... some more checks and balances still need to be built in before final release though. (Restore is untested)

- OEM and installed key retrieval

- Direct error code description by clicking on the error code.
WDT1.png

- Office diagnostic for Office 2010/2013. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Download: View attachment Windows_Diagnostic_Tool - Version 1.0.5652.zip

Change log:
Code:
Update: Feb 14 2015:  Fixed a few bugs with office version retrieval 
Incorrect repagination when viewing diag. report in notepad 
Added additional exception handling.  

Update: Build  16-Feb-2015  :  Fixed exception thrown  in post #4 below. 

Update: Build 17-Feb-2015:  Offline activation restore working - Once  notified of key installation run Windows validation to check. (Only  works on current installs. Busy investigating activation transfer to new  installs)

Update: Build 22-Feb-2015: Extended the time-out in retrieving data that resulted in an empty collection error. 
Highlight link and tooltip added for error code pop-up. (Pop-up disabled for 'zero error code')
Extended description pop-up to LegitCheckConrtrol error code.
*Added support for Office 2010 versions.

Update: Build 24-Feb-2015: Fixed error reported in post #7. Thanx Zaref.

-------------------------------------------- Preview ---------------------------------------------------------

Update: Build 5541: 
Just a few GUI changes, code optimisations.

Update: Build 5557: 
Fixed DPI scaling issue.

Update: Build 5560: 
Added auto-resizing to prevent redaction, thanx Adam, Jimbo
Added restore support for Windows 10 build 10041 (store folder name changed (store_test)

Update: Build: 5561:
GUI toggle masking Installed and OEM keys.
Screen change during restore.
Auto re-validation after restore.

Update: Build: 5569:
Support for Windows 10 build 10049
Fixed freeze during restore.

Update: Build: 5585 Version: 20945
Bug fixes

Update: Build: 5652
Aded support for Windows 10 ( build 10147)
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives
Posts
1,870
#2
Good work. Works well on 9926 (except for restoring activation which doesn't but you said it isn't tested). These are the issues I've found in case it helps :)

  • It is blocked by SmartScreen and I couldn't find a way to turn this off in this build. Had to run it from CMD prompt (probably not an issue).
  • Office activation I couldn't test as I have Office 16 and it isn't activated. The option was not available.
  • Activation backup says "Activation is being backed up" when it has finished (should say "Activation backed up" I guess).
  • Installation ID is truncated on screen (see below)
  • Install date isn't formatted in report ( Install Date: 20150211132923.000000+060

If I can make a suggestion it would be useful if you could copy the key (to clipboard perhaps) as you can't cut and paste from the screen and the key is redacted in the report. View attachment Windows Diagnostic.txt

wdt.PNG

I then removed my activation with slmgr.vbs -upk

Problems with restoring activation after:

  • Restore dialogue warns ActivationBackup will be replaced (rather alarming message but it didn't happen).

    Restore.PNG
  • Dialogue indicates restore was a success.
  • It wasn't though.
  • There was an error message when trying to save the report (I renamed the existing Windows Diagnostics.txt from earlier then it was OK) View attachment Windows Diagnostic after.txt

After.PNG
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#3
Thnx for testing Adam.

Yes restore is untested ... I have done some work on it in the latest build but it still isn't working correctly - I still need to build some validation into that. I'ts still only about 80% done.

Office 15 is also a bit of a headache - works fine on same arch installs but cross arch seems to break it - I'm busy testing 32bit on 64 bit 8.1 Enterprise at the moment.

I have changed the backup to include the installed key as that is now being used in restore. If anything it should reinstall your key now.

Here's the latest build.

BTW Can't one unblock the .exe from smartscreen?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives
Posts
1,870
#4
That was quick - Backup/Restore works with this build (for me).

Smartscreen doesn't have the "more info" button it had in 8.1 which would let you run it anyway. I need to look around some more. When I run it from CMD and this new build gives a seemingly unimportant error (as the application works). The last one didn't do that.

smartscreen.PNG


cmd.PNG
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#5
That was quick .
Funny, my gf tells me that all the time as well... LOL

Smartscreen doesn't have the "more info" button it had in 8.1 which would let you run it anyway.
Actually I forgot that Store listings are free now - may as well get it certified.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#6
It appears SPP has become a lot smarter. It now has a built in mechanism to repair a corrupt store. Event viewer entries below from a diag. report after attempting to replace the store files.
Code:
****** Errors from Event Log ***** 

Message: The rules engine failed to evaluate the rules. 
Reason:0xC004F011 Stage:GATHER_RULES_FROM_LICENSES 
Additional Data:  
Time Written: : 20150216054646.000000-000 
Message: The rules engine failed to evaluate the rules. 
Reason:0xC004F011 Stage:GATHER_RULES_FROM_LICENSES 
Additional Data:  

Time Written: : 20150216054305.000000-000 
Message: Token Store found to be corrupt. Recreating Token Store.  

Time Written: : 20150216054305.000000-000 
Message: Token Store found to be corrupt. Recreating Token Store.  

Time Written: : 20150215230743.000000-000 
Message: The rules engine failed to evaluate the rules. 
Reason:0x8007000D Stage:BUILD_ACTIONS 
Additional Data:
This effectively means only online activation is allowed. A good thing in the overall context as in the past we had to rename those files and use slmgr.vbs /rearm to re-create the corrupt store - it's now automatic.
[DEL]Backup can thus be limited to the key only as far as I can see. Obviously a huge setback for offline activation though. [/DEL]

EDIT: Seems the corruption was not due to backup files (must have been due to manually manipulating the store files) - either way restore seems to be working now.
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

Zaref

New Member
Member
Egypt

Posts
163
#7
Screenshot (22).png Screenshot (23).png
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    Lenovo G580
    CPU
    Inter Core I5 3210M
    Memory
    4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia Geforce 610
    Screen Resolution
    1366*786
    Internet Speed
    1MBpS
    Browser
    Google Chrome
    Antivirus
    Avira
    Other Info
    medical student who enjoys gaming
Posts
1,870
#8
I don't know why but smartscreen is working (I had to re-install for other reasons). It all looks good to me.

One small cosmetic issue. There is a link on the error code - it would be good if this was a different color so it is clear it is a link.

If your license is valid (and error code is zero) you get this...

Capture.PNG
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#9
@Zaref... please try the new build.

@Adam... good tip - updated ;)

BTW: Does Office 16 have the following LocalMachine reg values?
eg:
32 bit: "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Common\InstallRoot"
64 bit: "SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Common\ProductVersion"

Office 2010 :

Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives
Posts
1,870
#10
BTW: Does Office 16 have the following LocalMachine reg values?
eg:
32 bit: "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Common\InstallRoot"
64 bit: "SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Common\ProductVersion"
Yes and No. x64 Office 16 preview installed as a trial, not activated so can't check with the tool (button is disabled).

1.PNG 2.PNG
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender

Zaref

New Member
Member
Egypt

Posts
163
#11
still getting the same error message
Screenshot (25).png
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    Lenovo G580
    CPU
    Inter Core I5 3210M
    Memory
    4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia Geforce 610
    Screen Resolution
    1366*786
    Internet Speed
    1MBpS
    Browser
    Google Chrome
    Antivirus
    Avira
    Other Info
    medical student who enjoys gaming

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#12
Thanx Adam ... I'll get hold of a copy of Office 16 and see what's changed.

Zaref, it seems to be either due to synchronicity between threads or permissions on temp folder. See if this build fixes it.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

Zaref

New Member
Member
Egypt

Posts
163
#13
i'm using OEM could this be the cause of error ?
same error but with different window style Screenshot (27).png
See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.


************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentNullException: Collection cannot be null.
Parameter name: c
at System.Collections.ArrayList..ctor(ICollection c)
at Windows_Diagnostic_Tool.frmDiag.SetWin()
at Windows_Diagnostic_Tool.frmDiag.frmWin()
at Windows_Diagnostic_Tool.frmDiag.btnWin_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)




************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34209 built by: FX452RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Windows Diagnostic Tool
Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/d/Downloads/Programs/Windows%20Diagnostic%20Tool_2.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34209 built by: FX452RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34209 built by: FX452RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34239 built by: FX452RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34230 built by: FX452RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.34209 built by: FX452RTMGDR
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
CustomMarshalers
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/CustomMarshalers/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/CustomMarshalers.dll
----------------------------------------


************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.


For example:


<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>


When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    Lenovo G580
    CPU
    Inter Core I5 3210M
    Memory
    4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia Geforce 610
    Screen Resolution
    1366*786
    Internet Speed
    1MBpS
    Browser
    Google Chrome
    Antivirus
    Avira
    Other Info
    medical student who enjoys gaming

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#14
i'm using OEM could this be the cause of error ?
same error but with different window style
Nope,... I'll send you a JIT-enabled version to see where it breaks...
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

Zaref

New Member
Member
Egypt

Posts
163
#15
Ok I'm waiting
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    Lenovo G580
    CPU
    Inter Core I5 3210M
    Memory
    4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia Geforce 610
    Screen Resolution
    1366*786
    Internet Speed
    1MBpS
    Browser
    Google Chrome
    Antivirus
    Avira
    Other Info
    medical student who enjoys gaming

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#16
Sorry, been a bit busy - usually only have time weekends to get stuck in... anyway sent you a debug version.

Please unzip the 3 files together and let me have the log file created.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

Zaref

New Member
Member
Egypt

Posts
163
#17
done
PMed you the log
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    Lenovo G580
    CPU
    Inter Core I5 3210M
    Memory
    4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia Geforce 610
    Screen Resolution
    1366*786
    Internet Speed
    1MBpS
    Browser
    Google Chrome
    Antivirus
    Avira
    Other Info
    medical student who enjoys gaming

geel

New Member
Posts
1
#18
@Superfly, just tried running your tool after some minor OS corruption caused activation issues, but it always crashes for me with a BEX64 error when I select Windows Validation:

Problem Event Name: BEX64
Application Name: Windows Diagnostic Tool.exe
Application Version: 1.0.5536.37951
Application Timestamp: 54f0bfdf
Fault Module Name: MSVCR80.dll
Fault Module Version: 8.0.50727.8428
Fault Module Timestamp: 520b0ac2
Exception Offset: 000000000001df0d
Exception Code: c000000d
Exception Data: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.103
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 4d1c
Additional Information 2: 4d1ce9294daffd4d1c458c6769c4b71b
Additional Information 3: c4c4
Additional Information 4: c4c40511cec38294fe0e5673d5e94a13

BEX64 seems to be a buffer overrun or DEP violation:

"

[TD="colspan: 1"]EventType
[/TD]
[TD="colspan: 1"]BEX
[/TD]
[TD="colspan: 1"]Indicates a buffer overflow (/GS) or DEP exception (BEX64 indicates a buffer overflow (/GS) or DEP exception on 64-bit versions of Windows)
[/TD]


"

Could be my system as I'm still patching things up, but SFC /scannow passes.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1 Pro (x64)
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    custom
    CPU
    i5-3750K
    Motherboard
    MSI Z77A-G45
    Memory
    16GB DDR3
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX970 / Intel HD 4000

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#19
@Superfly, just tried running your tool after some minor OS corruption caused activation issues, but it always crashes for me with a BEX64 error when I select Windows Validation:

Problem Event Name: BEX64
Application Name: Windows Diagnostic Tool.exe
Application Version: 1.0.5536.37951
Application Timestamp: 54f0bfdf
Fault Module Name: MSVCR80.dll
Fault Module Version: 8.0.50727.8428
Fault Module Timestamp: 520b0ac2
Exception Offset: 000000000001df0d
Exception Code: c000000d
Exception Data: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.103
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 4d1c
Additional Information 2: 4d1ce9294daffd4d1c458c6769c4b71b
Additional Information 3: c4c4
Additional Information 4: c4c40511cec38294fe0e5673d5e94a13

BEX64 seems to be a buffer overrun or DEP violation:

"

EventType

BEX

Indicates a buffer overflow (/GS) or DEP exception (BEX64 indicates a buffer overflow (/GS) or DEP exception on 64-bit versions of Windows)


"

Could be my system as I'm still patching things up, but SFC /scannow passes.
Sorry for the late reply...

I'm not familiar with that error code.. doesn't seem to be related to .Net framework or WDT code... if someone has experience with this error please let me know - I may have a memory leak or something I need to patch...
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Cape Town

Posts
1,098
#20
Hi there

@Superfly

Your Windows validation tool is fine but I only get a non expandable half screen -- something in .NET or VBA.
Nice tool if you could fix it.

Cheers

jimbo

Attached Thumbnails
Fixed.
 

Attachments

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives