What's new

Windows 8.1 box unactivated frequently

pparks1

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Starting noticing around the 1st of the year, that my work laptop running Windows 8.1 with update 1 frequently boots up, shows the watermark in the lower right and if I check computer properties will show that Windows is not activated.

I don't have to do anything, and within about 2 minutes, the watermark goes away and Windows shows as activated.

I don't really see anything useful in the event viewer to explain what is going on. My laptop was purchased from Dell with an embedded OEM code in the BIOS for Windows 8.0 Professional. Over time, I did the store upgrade to 8.1 and have kept up with Windows update on the web to get to update 1. It's been very stable so haven't reloaded the OS at all after that first attempt.

Anybody else see this happen? I'm not too fussed about it, since it causes me no problems and goes away on it's own, but I'm trying to figure out what is happening in case other machines at work start doing something similar.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-Built in July 2009
    CPU
    Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz OC'd to 3.40Ghz
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev. 1.1, F12 BIOS
    Memory
    8GB G.Skill PI DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 timings
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA 1280MB Nvidia GeForce GTX570
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC899A 8 channel onboard audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    23" Acer x233H
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Intel X25-M 80GB Gen 2 SSD
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, 32MB cache. WD1001FALS
    PSU
    Corsair 620HX modular
    Case
    Antec P182
    Cooling
    stock
    Keyboard
    ABS M1 Mechanical
    Mouse
    Logitech G9 Laser Mouse
    Internet Speed
    15/2 cable modem
    Other Info
    Windows and Linux enthusiast. Logitech G35 Headset.

Nuccii

New Member
VIP Member
Guru

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro 64bit
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Pavillion H8-1202
    CPU
    I7-2600 @ 3.4 GHz
    Motherboard
    PEGATRON
    Memory
    8 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    NIVDIA GeForce GT 520
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC656GR CODEC
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung SyncMaster S22B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080 32 bit color
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB
    Keyboard
    Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013
    Mouse
    Logitech M510

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
I also can't recall seeing this behaviour... can only guess that Software Protection service (has inherited the Windows 8 default startup type of Automatic (Delayed Start) - which in windows 8.1 should be Automatic, as should RPC service. - but as Nuccii says may be helpful to run Display_Licence_Info to check event log messages - A Diag. report run in the de-activated state will be interesting as well.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

alphanumeric

slightly off center
VIP Member
Guru
Gold Member
Microsoft changed the OEM activation for Windows 8. In Windows 7 and earlier, factory OEM installs activated against the SLIC table in the BIOS. They didn't activate online. Retail versions activated online though. In Windows 8, even though the product key is in the BIOS, OEM factory installs now activate online. I don't know how often, it might be every time you boot up. There is likely a grace period if that PC doesn't have Internet access. Then when that times out you get the watermark and a reminder to activate.

Another scenario is it could be a Pro Volume License version that activates through a company KMS server. If it can't connect to the KMS server activation times out and you enter a grace period. Once you log back into the company network it activates again and resets the timer.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Education 64 Bit
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Asus
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Deneb 3.7GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS M4N68T-M V2 µATX Motherboard
    Memory
    8GB 4GBx2 Kingston PC10600 DDR3 1333 Memory
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2 Gig DDR3 PCIe
    Sound Card
    VIA VT1708s High Definition Audio 8-channel Onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    22" LG E2242 1080p and 2 19" I-INC AG191D
    Screen Resolution
    1280x1024 - 1920x1080 - 1280x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial MX100 256 GB SSD and 500 GB WD Blue SATA
    PSU
    Thermaltake TR 620
    Case
    Power Up Black ATX Mid-Tower Case
    Cooling
    Stock heatsink fan
    Keyboard
    Logitech Wireless K350 Wave
    Mouse
    Logitech M570 Trackball and T650 TouchPad
    Internet Speed
    80 Mbps Down 30 Mbps Up
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    HP DVD1040e Lightscribe - External USB2

JillR

New Member
I get the blue screen to 'activate windows'. I click on the button to go to settings, enter my product key, then it tells me 'this key did not work. Check it and try again' What do I do?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows XP
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop

Nuccii

New Member
VIP Member
Guru
@JillR
Please create a new thread, it will create less confusion with this one as the problem is not the same.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro 64bit
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Pavillion H8-1202
    CPU
    I7-2600 @ 3.4 GHz
    Motherboard
    PEGATRON
    Memory
    8 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    NIVDIA GeForce GT 520
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC656GR CODEC
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung SyncMaster S22B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080 32 bit color
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB
    Keyboard
    Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013
    Mouse
    Logitech M510

Nuccii

New Member
VIP Member
Guru

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 Update 1 Pro 64bit
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Pavillion H8-1202
    CPU
    I7-2600 @ 3.4 GHz
    Motherboard
    PEGATRON
    Memory
    8 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    NIVDIA GeForce GT 520
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC656GR CODEC
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung SyncMaster S22B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080 32 bit color
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB
    Keyboard
    Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2013
    Mouse
    Logitech M510

pparks1

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
I also can't recall seeing this behaviour... can only guess that Software Protection service (has inherited the Windows 8 default startup type of Automatic (Delayed Start) - which in windows 8.1 should be Automatic, as should RPC service. - but as Nuccii says may be helpful to run Display_Licence_Info to check event log messages - A Diag. report run in the de-activated state will be interesting as well.

Hey Superfly,

My RPC is set as automatic, but my Software Protection option is indeed set to Automatic (Delayed Start, Trigger Start). I double checked some other PC's at work and they are all set to Delayed Start too, and don't exhibit this behavior. From what I have read, that is the default setup type for this service.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-Built in July 2009
    CPU
    Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz OC'd to 3.40Ghz
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev. 1.1, F12 BIOS
    Memory
    8GB G.Skill PI DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 timings
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA 1280MB Nvidia GeForce GTX570
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC899A 8 channel onboard audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    23" Acer x233H
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Intel X25-M 80GB Gen 2 SSD
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, 32MB cache. WD1001FALS
    PSU
    Corsair 620HX modular
    Case
    Antec P182
    Cooling
    stock
    Keyboard
    ABS M1 Mechanical
    Mouse
    Logitech G9 Laser Mouse
    Internet Speed
    15/2 cable modem
    Other Info
    Windows and Linux enthusiast. Logitech G35 Headset.

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
I also can't recall seeing this behaviour... can only guess that Software Protection service (has inherited the Windows 8 default startup type of Automatic (Delayed Start) - which in windows 8.1 should be Automatic, as should RPC service. - but as Nuccii says may be helpful to run Display_Licence_Info to check event log messages - A Diag. report run in the de-activated state will be interesting as well.

Hey Superfly,

My RPC is set as automatic, but my Software Protection option is indeed set to Automatic (Delayed Start, Trigger Start). I double checked some other PC's at work and they are all set to Delayed Start too, and don't exhibit this behavior. From what I have read, that is the default setup type for this service.

Mmmm, yes you're correct - not sure why I was under that impression :/

At least we have excluded one variable...
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

pparks1

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
I have run display_license_info.vbs and got the following

Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.8Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Software licensing service version: 6.3.9600.16497


Name: Windows(R), Professional edition
Description: Windows(R) Operating System, OEM_DM channel
Activation ID: 0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7
Application ID: 55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f
Extended PID: 06401-01801-056-538683-02-1033-9600.0000-0992014
Product Key Channel: OEM:DM
Installation ID: 454905455233637917924508726656865656410434883869488649051715763
Use License URL: https://activation-v2.sls.microsoft.com/SLActivateProduct/SLActivateProduct.asmx?configextension=DM
Validation URL: https://validation-v2.sls.microsoft.com/SLWGA/slwga.asmx
Partial Product Key: WW8YP
License Status: Licensed
Remaining Windows rearm count: 1000
Remaining SKU rearm count: 1001
Trusted time: 1/13/2015 11:58:37 AM




************** Errors from Event Log *************


Message: License Activation (slui.exe) failed with the following error code:
hr=0xC004C008
Command-line arguments:
RuleId=3482d82e-ca2c-4e1f-8864-da0267b484b2;Action=AutoActivate;AppId=55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f;SkuId=0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7;NotificationInterval=1440;Trigger=TimerEvent
Time Written: 20150102005453.000000-000


Message: Acquisition of End User License failed. hr=0xC004C008
Sku Id=0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7
Time Written: 20150102005452.000000-000


Message: License acquisition failure details.
hr=0xC004C008
Time Written: 20150102005452.000000-000


Message: License Activation (slui.exe) failed with the following error code:
hr=0xC004E028
Command-line arguments:
RuleId=3482d82e-ca2c-4e1f-8864-da0267b484b2;Action=AutoActivate;AppId=55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f;SkuId=0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7;NotificationInterval=1440;Trigger=NetworkAvailable
Time Written: 20150102005451.000000-000


i'm running a malwarebytes scan to eliminate any potential issues there.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-Built in July 2009
    CPU
    Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz OC'd to 3.40Ghz
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev. 1.1, F12 BIOS
    Memory
    8GB G.Skill PI DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 timings
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA 1280MB Nvidia GeForce GTX570
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC899A 8 channel onboard audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    23" Acer x233H
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Intel X25-M 80GB Gen 2 SSD
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, 32MB cache. WD1001FALS
    PSU
    Corsair 620HX modular
    Case
    Antec P182
    Cooling
    stock
    Keyboard
    ABS M1 Mechanical
    Mouse
    Logitech G9 Laser Mouse
    Internet Speed
    15/2 cable modem
    Other Info
    Windows and Linux enthusiast. Logitech G35 Headset.

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
That's interesting... Those error codes suggest there are simultaneous activation attempts being made with the result it was refused on the basis of having too many activations for the installed key.
The fact that it eventually activates means that the cause most likely is a rogue instance of sppsvc running - once that completes (unsucessfully) normal activation ensues... Strange behaviour, not sure if I can replicate it - will have to some research on this one first.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

pparks1

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Malwarebytes came back ok. Found 6 things, that are all PUP's and non-malware.

One was pup.optional.installcore.a I quarantined everything and will now reboot.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-Built in July 2009
    CPU
    Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz OC'd to 3.40Ghz
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev. 1.1, F12 BIOS
    Memory
    8GB G.Skill PI DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 timings
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA 1280MB Nvidia GeForce GTX570
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC899A 8 channel onboard audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    23" Acer x233H
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Intel X25-M 80GB Gen 2 SSD
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, 32MB cache. WD1001FALS
    PSU
    Corsair 620HX modular
    Case
    Antec P182
    Cooling
    stock
    Keyboard
    ABS M1 Mechanical
    Mouse
    Logitech G9 Laser Mouse
    Internet Speed
    15/2 cable modem
    Other Info
    Windows and Linux enthusiast. Logitech G35 Headset.

alphanumeric

slightly off center
VIP Member
Guru
Gold Member

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Education 64 Bit
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Asus
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Deneb 3.7GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS M4N68T-M V2 µATX Motherboard
    Memory
    8GB 4GBx2 Kingston PC10600 DDR3 1333 Memory
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2 Gig DDR3 PCIe
    Sound Card
    VIA VT1708s High Definition Audio 8-channel Onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    22" LG E2242 1080p and 2 19" I-INC AG191D
    Screen Resolution
    1280x1024 - 1920x1080 - 1280x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial MX100 256 GB SSD and 500 GB WD Blue SATA
    PSU
    Thermaltake TR 620
    Case
    Power Up Black ATX Mid-Tower Case
    Cooling
    Stock heatsink fan
    Keyboard
    Logitech Wireless K350 Wave
    Mouse
    Logitech M570 Trackball and T650 TouchPad
    Internet Speed
    80 Mbps Down 30 Mbps Up
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    HP DVD1040e Lightscribe - External USB2

alphanumeric

slightly off center
VIP Member
Guru
Gold Member
I've seen this behavior on a new install on the first log in. Usually by the time I open the system screen to activate it shows as activated and the watermark is gone. I don't remember seeing it after that though?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Education 64 Bit
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Asus
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Deneb 3.7GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS M4N68T-M V2 µATX Motherboard
    Memory
    8GB 4GBx2 Kingston PC10600 DDR3 1333 Memory
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2 Gig DDR3 PCIe
    Sound Card
    VIA VT1708s High Definition Audio 8-channel Onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    22" LG E2242 1080p and 2 19" I-INC AG191D
    Screen Resolution
    1280x1024 - 1920x1080 - 1280x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial MX100 256 GB SSD and 500 GB WD Blue SATA
    PSU
    Thermaltake TR 620
    Case
    Power Up Black ATX Mid-Tower Case
    Cooling
    Stock heatsink fan
    Keyboard
    Logitech Wireless K350 Wave
    Mouse
    Logitech M570 Trackball and T650 TouchPad
    Internet Speed
    80 Mbps Down 30 Mbps Up
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    HP DVD1040e Lightscribe - External USB2

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
Malwarebytes came back ok. Found 6 things, that are all PUP's and non-malware.

One was pup.optional.installcore.a I quarantined everything and will now reboot.

Maybe just be tasks running concurrently...
Capture1.JPG
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives

pparks1

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
It's just strange, I've had this machine configured for a long time. I haven't seen it before the start of the year. I've never seen it except on a new machine during the first login.

I think it happens most often when I switch back and forth between my home and my work network. I've only seen it 3 times thus far, but that's 3 more times than I've seen it before.

We don't use a KMS server at work, we pretty much just bought new machines with the OEM license and we went with that. I have a few test boxes activated with my MSDN account, for Windows 7 and such we use a MAK key to activate them.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-Built in July 2009
    CPU
    Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz OC'd to 3.40Ghz
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev. 1.1, F12 BIOS
    Memory
    8GB G.Skill PI DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 timings
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA 1280MB Nvidia GeForce GTX570
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC899A 8 channel onboard audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    23" Acer x233H
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Intel X25-M 80GB Gen 2 SSD
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, 32MB cache. WD1001FALS
    PSU
    Corsair 620HX modular
    Case
    Antec P182
    Cooling
    stock
    Keyboard
    ABS M1 Mechanical
    Mouse
    Logitech G9 Laser Mouse
    Internet Speed
    15/2 cable modem
    Other Info
    Windows and Linux enthusiast. Logitech G35 Headset.

alphanumeric

slightly off center
VIP Member
Guru
Gold Member
I'm not an IT Pro, so what little I know about it is what I've read. My laptop and my wife's laptop came with an OEM install of 8.0 Core. They are both running 8.1 Pro now with my TechNet (Retail) keys. I don't think I've seen that happen other than the fist logon on a new install. Not that I can remember anyway. My best guess is something is delaying the online activation check. I think you guys know a lot more about how it works than I do.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Education 64 Bit
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Asus
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Deneb 3.7GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS M4N68T-M V2 µATX Motherboard
    Memory
    8GB 4GBx2 Kingston PC10600 DDR3 1333 Memory
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA Geforce GT640 2 Gig DDR3 PCIe
    Sound Card
    VIA VT1708s High Definition Audio 8-channel Onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    22" LG E2242 1080p and 2 19" I-INC AG191D
    Screen Resolution
    1280x1024 - 1920x1080 - 1280x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial MX100 256 GB SSD and 500 GB WD Blue SATA
    PSU
    Thermaltake TR 620
    Case
    Power Up Black ATX Mid-Tower Case
    Cooling
    Stock heatsink fan
    Keyboard
    Logitech Wireless K350 Wave
    Mouse
    Logitech M570 Trackball and T650 TouchPad
    Internet Speed
    80 Mbps Down 30 Mbps Up
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    HP DVD1040e Lightscribe - External USB2

pparks1

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Well, haven't seen the problem in about a week or so. Booted up this morning and the watermark is back in the corner today Says;
Windows 8.1 Pro, Build 9600.

At the end of the work day yesterday I performed a shutdown on the machine, put it into my laptop bag, took the laptop home, didn't touch it, came to work today, turned it on, and see the watermark.

Here is what the Display_License_Info.vbs says
Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.8Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


Software licensing service version: 6.3.9600.16497


Name: Windows(R), Professional edition
Description: Windows(R) Operating System, OEM_DM channel
Activation ID: 0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7
Application ID: 55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f
Extended PID: 06401-01801-056-538683-02-1033-9600.0000-0992014
Product Key Channel: OEM:DM
Installation ID: 454905455233637917924508726656865656410434883869488649051715763
Use License URL: https://activation-v2.sls.microsoft.com/SLActivateProduct/SLActivateProduct.asmx?configextension=DM
Validation URL: https://validation-v2.sls.microsoft.com/SLWGA/slwga.asmx
Partial Product Key: WW8YP
License Status: Licensed
Remaining Windows rearm count: 1000
Remaining SKU rearm count: 1001
Trusted time: 1/21/2015 9:19:31 AM




************** Errors from Event Log *************


Message: License Activation (slui.exe) failed with the following error code:
hr=0xC004C008
Command-line arguments:
RuleId=3482d82e-ca2c-4e1f-8864-da0267b484b2;Action=AutoActivate;AppId=55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f;SkuId=0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7;NotificationInterval=1440;Trigger=TimerEvent
Time Written: 20150102005453.000000-000


Message: Acquisition of End User License failed. hr=0xC004C008
Sku Id=0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7
Time Written: 20150102005452.000000-000


Message: License acquisition failure details.
hr=0xC004C008
Time Written: 20150102005452.000000-000


Message: License Activation (slui.exe) failed with the following error code:
hr=0xC004E028
Command-line arguments:
RuleId=3482d82e-ca2c-4e1f-8864-da0267b484b2;Action=AutoActivate;AppId=55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f;SkuId=0cdc4d08-6df6-4eb4-b5b4-a373c3e351e7;NotificationInterval=1440;Trigger=NetworkAvailable
Time Written: 20150102005451.000000-000

Properties of My Computer does show "Windows is activated". Once I log out and back on, I'm sure the watermark will be gone.


I'm running a malwarebytes scan and will do a rootkit scan once this is complete.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self-Built in July 2009
    CPU
    Intel Q9550 2.83Ghz OC'd to 3.40Ghz
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R rev. 1.1, F12 BIOS
    Memory
    8GB G.Skill PI DDR2-800, 4-4-4-12 timings
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA 1280MB Nvidia GeForce GTX570
    Sound Card
    Realtek ALC899A 8 channel onboard audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    23" Acer x233H
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Intel X25-M 80GB Gen 2 SSD
    Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black, 32MB cache. WD1001FALS
    PSU
    Corsair 620HX modular
    Case
    Antec P182
    Cooling
    stock
    Keyboard
    ABS M1 Mechanical
    Mouse
    Logitech G9 Laser Mouse
    Internet Speed
    15/2 cable modem
    Other Info
    Windows and Linux enthusiast. Logitech G35 Headset.

Superfly

Developer
VIP Member
Guru
What's even stranger is that there are no new errors being logged- still shows those of 2015-01-02...

Try Win8diag just for kicks - perhaps there is something there that can shed some light on the issue...
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    PC-DOS v1.0
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    IBM
    CPU
    Intel 8088, 4.77MHz
    Memory
    16K, 640K max
    Graphics Card(s)
    What's that?
    Sound Card
    Not quite
    Screen Resolution
    80 X 24 text
    Hard Drives
    dual 160KB 5.25-inch disk drives
Top