Solved Windows 10 removal problem

Dullyjock

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Idaho
I upgraded to windows 10 and after a few days decided I didn't like it and reverted back to windows 8.1 most things worked just fine, but the IE11 now does not work, Most pages come up with certificate errors and won't load, before I loaded windows 10 I never had this problem. As suggested I removed all add ons and tried again but no change. I tried system restore but that didn't work. Is there any way to reload IE11? At the moment I am using Firefox that doesn't seem to be affected. If anyone has a cure for this please let me know. Thank you.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 64bit
    Name
    Brent
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Cybertron Patroit
    CPU
    AMD A-4-6300
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technololy Co. Ltd. F2A68HM-HD2 (PO)
    Graphics Card(s)
    768MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8370D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell SX2210
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Toshiba DT01Aca100
    Occupation
    Maintenance Tech
    Keyboard
    Aula
    Mouse
    Logitech M510
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us idaho

jds63

New Member
Pro User
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
2,214
Location
N.Y.

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Name
    jds
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    CyberPowerPC Gamer Xtreme 1502 (GX1502)
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 5820K 3.30 GHZ 64 bit 6-Core Processor
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
    Memory
    G.Skill 16GB Quad Channel DDR4-2400MHZ
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+ DDR5 4GB
    Sound Card
    Creative Sound Blaster ZxR 5.1
    Monitor(s) Displays
    ASUS PA24Q 24" Pro Art IPS LCD/LED Backlit 1920x1200
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1200 16:10
    Hard Drives
    SAMSUNG 850 EVO 250GB SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Internal SSD,
    Crucial MX100 512GB SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Internal SSD,
    WD WD10EZEX-00RKKA0 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 3.5 Internal HDD
    PSU
    EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 750W 80 Plus Gold Full Modular
    Case
    AZZA Cosmas Black Gaming Case
    Cooling
    Cool Master Hyper 212 Evo Dual 120mm, ( 2) Noctua PWM 120mm Case Fans (1) Gelid PWM 120mm Blue LED
    Keyboard
    Logitech K800 Illumiated Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Logitech M570 Wireless Trackball
    Internet Speed
    84mbps /94mbps
    Browser
    Mozilla Firefox 41.0.1 / Microsoft Edge/ IE 11
    Antivirus
    Norton Security 2015
    Other Info
    Pioneer BDR-209DBK 16x Blu-Ray Burner, LG 24x Dual Layer DVD Burner,
    StarTech Front Bay 22-in-1 USB 2.0 Internal Multi Media Memory Card Reader,Logitech Z906 5.1 Speaker system
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new york

ARC1020

New Member
Power User
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
446
Is the computer date and time correct? Do you have Windows Update or svchost blocked from connecting to the internet? What do the certificate errors say?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8 64-bit

Dullyjock

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Idaho
details

It gave me an option to go back to 8.1 and stated I could use it for up to 30 days, the option is within windows 10 so I don't have it anymore. As for what the errors say I will attach a picture and yes the time and date are set correctly. I did try changing the date it would open the web sites but only by going though the not recomended option.errors.PNG
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 64bit
    Name
    Brent
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Cybertron Patroit
    CPU
    AMD A-4-6300
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technololy Co. Ltd. F2A68HM-HD2 (PO)
    Graphics Card(s)
    768MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8370D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell SX2210
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Toshiba DT01Aca100
    Occupation
    Maintenance Tech
    Keyboard
    Aula
    Mouse
    Logitech M510
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us idaho

mrgeek

New Member
Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2015
Messages
112
Assuming the date and time is absolutely correct (the most common cause of this problem) and you tried the reset IE suggestion in post 2 and re-booted, try turning IE off then on - Control Panel/Programs and Features, left column - 'Turn Windows feature on and off' ; untick 'Internet Explorer 11'. Restart, then repeat and tick IE11 to turn back on.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1

sygnus21

Member
VIP Member
Power User
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Messages
670
Location
USA
I've found that most of the time when you get those certificate errors it's probably a date thing, which is turn could be a failing BIOS (CMOS) battery. That said...

Check that your BIOS time is correct. If not, set the time. If you find the time isn't sticking, you'll need to replace the battery, set the correct time, and load "Optimized Defaults" to set your BIOS at a default sate for your CPU & memory. You'll need to do this because you're replacing the battery and replacing the battery will reset the BIOS anyway.

Before doing that though, check the time under Windows to make sure it's correct, if not try setting that first. If the time isn't sticking, it's most probably a dying CMOS battery.

Let us know.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center
    Name
    Drew
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom built by me
    CPU
    Haswell i7-4770K
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte G1 Sniper 5 (BIOS F9)
    Memory
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 32 gig (1866MHz)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Sapphire R9-280 Vapor X
    Sound Card
    Soundblaster ZXR
    Monitor(s) Displays
    NEC PA242W - 24 inch
    Screen Resolution
    1920 x 1200
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 512gig 850 Pro SSD (OS), Samsung 256gig 840 Pro SSD (photo editing), Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB HD
    PSU
    EVGA Supernova 1000 G2
    Occupation
    I work
    Case
    Cooler Master HAF X
    Cooling
    Corsair H100i Closed Loop Cooler
    Keyboard
    Logitech Wireless Wave
    Mouse
    Logitech Performance MX
    Internet Speed
    High Speed
    Browser
    IE11
    Antivirus
    Norton Security
    Other Info
    RAM Speed: 1866MHZ @ 9-10-10-27-2T, 1.5v
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us virginia

ARC1020

New Member
Power User
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
446
As for what the errors say I will attach a picture and yes the time and date are set correctly. I did try changing the date it would open the web sites but only by going though the not recomended option.

In your screenshot above, it doesn't show the option to "Continue to this website (not recommended)", which IMO isn't very well thought out on Microsoft's part because that prevents you from viewing the certificate that it's saying is not secure.

However, if as you say you're able to open a problem website by going though the 'not recommended' option, find a well known mainstream website where you get this error such as https://www.google.com/ , https://www.bing.com/ , https://www.youtube.com/ , https://en.wikipedia.org/ , etc.

Then go through the not recommended option and you should then be able to view the certificate either by right-clicking on the webpage and going to Properties > Certificates or by clicking on the red 'Certificate Error' in the address bar and going to 'View Certificates'.

Untitled-1.png


What do the 'General' and 'Certificate Path' tabs show? For example:

Untitled-2.png
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8 64-bit

Dullyjock

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Idaho
continued

c3.PNGc2.PNGc1.PNGI can get those but only by changing the date and using the not recomended option.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 64bit
    Name
    Brent
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Cybertron Patroit
    CPU
    AMD A-4-6300
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technololy Co. Ltd. F2A68HM-HD2 (PO)
    Graphics Card(s)
    768MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8370D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell SX2210
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Toshiba DT01Aca100
    Occupation
    Maintenance Tech
    Keyboard
    Aula
    Mouse
    Logitech M510
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us idaho

ARC1020

New Member
Power User
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
446
The real SSL/TLS certificate for https://www.skylightpaycard.com/ is signed by a Symantec Intermediate Certificate Authority and Verisign Root Certificate Authority.

Untitled-3.png

Your certificate is issued by Bitdefender CA. Therefore is appears that Bitdefender is acting as it's own CA and is issuing it's own certificates on your PC, presumably so that Bitdefender can intercept encrypted internet traffic for monitoring/malware detection purposes. Essentially it's carrying out Man-in-the-Middle interception between you and skylightpaycard.com.

Therefore it's Bitdefenders Certificate that isn't trusted and that's the reason why you're getting certificate warnings. I would query it with Bitdefender.
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8 64-bit

Dullyjock

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Idaho
reply

I will, Thank you.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 64bit
    Name
    Brent
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Cybertron Patroit
    CPU
    AMD A-4-6300
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technololy Co. Ltd. F2A68HM-HD2 (PO)
    Graphics Card(s)
    768MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8370D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell SX2210
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Toshiba DT01Aca100
    Occupation
    Maintenance Tech
    Keyboard
    Aula
    Mouse
    Logitech M510
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us idaho

Dullyjock

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Idaho
I just wanted to thank all of you for your time and wisdom in resolving this problem. Thank you.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 64bit
    Name
    Brent
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Cybertron Patroit
    CPU
    AMD A-4-6300
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technololy Co. Ltd. F2A68HM-HD2 (PO)
    Graphics Card(s)
    768MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8370D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell SX2210
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Toshiba DT01Aca100
    Occupation
    Maintenance Tech
    Keyboard
    Aula
    Mouse
    Logitech M510
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us idaho

Ztruker

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
2,888
Location
Space coast of Florida
So what was the problem, Bit Defender? How did you solve it?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Lenovo IdeaCenter K450
    CPU
    Intel Quad Core i7-4770 @ 3.4Ghz
    Motherboard
    Lenovo
    Memory
    16.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel Integrated HD Graphics
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    HP h2207
    Screen Resolution
    [email protected]
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung EVO SATA-3 SSD;
    2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 SATA-2;
    1.5TB Seagate ST3150041AS SATA
    PSU
    500W
    Keyboard
    Wired USB
    Mouse
    Wired USB
    Internet Speed
    3GB Up, 30GB Down
    Browser
    SeaMonkey
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender; MBAM Pro
    Other Info
    UEFI/GPT
    PLDS DVD-RW DH16AERSH
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

Dullyjock

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Idaho
Yes it was the bitdefender. removed and reinstalled. No more problem.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1 64bit
    Name
    Brent
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Cybertron Patroit
    CPU
    AMD A-4-6300
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technololy Co. Ltd. F2A68HM-HD2 (PO)
    Graphics Card(s)
    768MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 8370D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell SX2210
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    Toshiba DT01Aca100
    Occupation
    Maintenance Tech
    Keyboard
    Aula
    Mouse
    Logitech M510
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    Bitdefender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us idaho

Ztruker

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
2,888
Location
Space coast of Florida
Great, thank you.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Lenovo IdeaCenter K450
    CPU
    Intel Quad Core i7-4770 @ 3.4Ghz
    Motherboard
    Lenovo
    Memory
    16.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel Integrated HD Graphics
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    HP h2207
    Screen Resolution
    [email protected]
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung EVO SATA-3 SSD;
    2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 SATA-2;
    1.5TB Seagate ST3150041AS SATA
    PSU
    500W
    Keyboard
    Wired USB
    Mouse
    Wired USB
    Internet Speed
    3GB Up, 30GB Down
    Browser
    SeaMonkey
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender; MBAM Pro
    Other Info
    UEFI/GPT
    PLDS DVD-RW DH16AERSH
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top