Why does MalwareBytes turn off Defender on one PC and not the other?

MamaBear2017

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
83
Location
Denver
This is weird. We have MWB on my Windows 8.1 PC and it runs along side Windows Defender. But we also have MWB on my sister's Windows 8.1 PC in the same house, and if we start MWB, it turns off Windows Defender and Defender can ONLY be turned on, if we turn off MWB
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Asus
    Gender
    Female
    CPU
    FX-8310
    Memory
    DDR3 16GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R7 240 2GB
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us colorado

RolandJS

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
681
Location
Austin TX metro area
Did one Defender have real protection on and the other defender have real protection off? If yes, which defender was turned off?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit [MS blue-disk set]
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    2 Acers & 1 Antec[?]
    CPU
    i7 in 2 Acers, i5 in desktop
    Motherboard
    Desktop w/Gigabyte
    Memory
    Two w/16GB, 1 w/8GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Laptops GameWorthy; Desktop maybe GameWorthy
    Monitor(s) Displays
    flatscreens; 2 are BluRay worthy
    Screen Resolution
    1368x768; 1600x900
    Hard Drives
    1TB internals; 2 ext usb WD 1TB HDs
    PSU
    what's PSU?
    Occupation
    Substitute Teacher for AISD, RRISD & GISD
    Cooling
    Regular plus external fans
    Keyboard
    desktio w/PS2
    Mouse
    desktop w/PS2
    Internet Speed
    DSL middle level [160?]
    Browser
    from Netscape 0.9 to FF 36
    Antivirus
    well-balanced, well-configured mult-layered defense is best
    Other Info
    From MS-DOS 3.3, MS-DOS 6.22, from Windows 3.1 to WFW 3.11 to Windows 95-98SE, now to Windows 7 Pro.
    Security for now: Windows 7 Firewall, Emsisoft AM, MSE [scan-only], SpywareBlaster, Ruiware/BillP combine
    Country Flag
    USA

A Guy

Righteous Dude
Team Member
VIP Member
Gold Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
24,294
Location
Bay Area
This is by design, Defender is set to disable itself if another AV program is registered to Windows Security Center.

If you install another antivirus product, Windows Defender AV will automatically disable itself and will indicate this in the Windows Security app. A setting will appear that will allow you to enable limited periodic scanning.

Windows Defender Antivirus in the Windows Security app - Windows security

To stop Malwarebytes from Disabling Windows Defender, open

Malwarebytes > Settings > Security

Scroll down and turn off Always register Malwarebytes in the Windows Security Center

Clipboard01.jpg

A Guy
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Home x64
    Name
    Bill
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    INTEL Core i5-750
    Motherboard
    ASUS P7P55D
    Memory
    KINGSTON HyperX Fury Black Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866Mhz
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX750
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LG 27MP33HQ 32" IPS LED
    Screen Resolution
    1920 x 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 840 Evo 120 GB, 2 x SEAGATE 500GB Barracuda® 7200.12, SATA 3 Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 16MB cache
    PSU
    ANTEC TruePower New TP-550, 80 PLUS®, 550W
    Case
    ANTEC Three Hundred Illusion
    Cooling
    COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus, 3 x 120mm 1 x 140mm Case
    Internet Speed
    20 + Mbps
    Browser
    Vivaldi
    Antivirus
    Avast
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

RolandJS

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
681
Location
Austin TX metro area
Folks, how do I register a 3rd party AV AM program using Windows Security Center?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit [MS blue-disk set]
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    2 Acers & 1 Antec[?]
    CPU
    i7 in 2 Acers, i5 in desktop
    Motherboard
    Desktop w/Gigabyte
    Memory
    Two w/16GB, 1 w/8GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Laptops GameWorthy; Desktop maybe GameWorthy
    Monitor(s) Displays
    flatscreens; 2 are BluRay worthy
    Screen Resolution
    1368x768; 1600x900
    Hard Drives
    1TB internals; 2 ext usb WD 1TB HDs
    PSU
    what's PSU?
    Occupation
    Substitute Teacher for AISD, RRISD & GISD
    Cooling
    Regular plus external fans
    Keyboard
    desktio w/PS2
    Mouse
    desktop w/PS2
    Internet Speed
    DSL middle level [160?]
    Browser
    from Netscape 0.9 to FF 36
    Antivirus
    well-balanced, well-configured mult-layered defense is best
    Other Info
    From MS-DOS 3.3, MS-DOS 6.22, from Windows 3.1 to WFW 3.11 to Windows 95-98SE, now to Windows 7 Pro.
    Security for now: Windows 7 Firewall, Emsisoft AM, MSE [scan-only], SpywareBlaster, Ruiware/BillP combine
    Country Flag
    USA

A Guy

Righteous Dude
Team Member
VIP Member
Gold Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
24,294
Location
Bay Area
Is it a well known program? If so, try to re-register WMIUTILS.DLL

Press Win + X keys
Click on Command Prompt (Admin)
Type or copy-paste regsvr32 /u WMIUTILS.DLL
Enter

Reboot your PC
Press Win + X
Click on Command Prompt (Admin)
Type or copy-paste regsvr32 WMIUTILS.DLL
Reboot again

See if it shows now

There may be a more elegant way to do all that, but I've never used 8 or 8.1 :)

A Guy
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Home x64
    Name
    Bill
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    INTEL Core i5-750
    Motherboard
    ASUS P7P55D
    Memory
    KINGSTON HyperX Fury Black Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866Mhz
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX750
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LG 27MP33HQ 32" IPS LED
    Screen Resolution
    1920 x 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 840 Evo 120 GB, 2 x SEAGATE 500GB Barracuda® 7200.12, SATA 3 Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 16MB cache
    PSU
    ANTEC TruePower New TP-550, 80 PLUS®, 550W
    Case
    ANTEC Three Hundred Illusion
    Cooling
    COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus, 3 x 120mm 1 x 140mm Case
    Internet Speed
    20 + Mbps
    Browser
    Vivaldi
    Antivirus
    Avast
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top