What would make Windows defender scan for 58 hours?

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
i have a client running windows 8.1. on a touchscreen laptop. He set a full scan and it was running for 58 hours till he finally shut it off.
He also has malwarebytes and on a full scan it took 2 days to finsih
Quick scans take about a half hour
I am getting his laptop this afternoon to try to figure this out but I wanted some suggestions please

thanks
robin
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

David Bailey

Banned
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
10,485
Location
Harrisonburg, Va.
Maybe run

Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

&


sfc /scannow
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1.1 Pro with Media Center
    Name
    David A. Bailey
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gateway
    CPU
    AMD K140 Cores 2 Threads 2 Name AMD K140 Package Socket FT1 BGA Technology 40nm
    Motherboard
    Manufacturer Gateway Model SX2110G (P0)
    Memory
    Type DDR3 Size 8192 MBytes DRAM Frequency 532.3 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    AMD High Definition Audio Device Realtek High Definition Audio USB Audio Device
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Name 1950W on AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x76
    Screen Resolution
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Hard Drives
    AMD K140
    Cores 2
    Threads 2
    Name AMD K140
    Package Socket FT1 BGA
    Technology 40nm
    Specification AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 14
    Model 2
    Extended Model 2
    Stepping 0
    Revision ON-C0
    Instruction
    Occupation
    Trying to live a good life before I die.
    Browser
    Opera 24.0
    Antivirus
    Avast Internet Security
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us virginia

adamf

Banned
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,870
How many items are being scanned? I get about 20k per minute on Defender. How many are scanned after (ouch) 58 hours?

EDIT: I left full scan running while I went to the supermarket. When I came back it was 1hr 2 minutes for 156k so about the same rate. If it is significantly slower for you (like orders of magnitude) you have a problem. Something is locking an object perhaps. If the rate is OK then perhaps you are checking a huge amount of items - not just on C:/ but elsewhere.

Just a thought. Please try it and see your rate and whether you are scanning (for example) removable drives when you run a full scan. Look in Settings tab, Advanced.
 

Attachments

  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    94.1 KB · Views: 76
  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    121.1 KB · Views: 117
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Name
    adam
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender
    Country Flag
    France

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
i am going to look at the settings and see what is scanning, the same for Malwarebytes and David, thanks I will try that also
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

adamf

Banned
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
1,870
i am going to look at the settings and see what is scanning, the same for Malwarebytes and David, thanks I will try that also
Well Robin, my full scan still has not finished. I guess it is worth doing anyway. 227k in an hour and three quarters.

I believe I've seen you on 9 forums already right? Same guy/girl?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Name
    adam
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender
    Country Flag
    France

oneeyed

New Member
Pro User
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
328
First you should make sure the PC is fully updated.

Second, check if there's no other antivirus installed, this sounds a lot like your problem. This might come from an old antivirus app which was not uninstalled properly, check this for uninstallers : List of anti-malware product removal tools - Microsoft Community. I would also disable malwarebytes real time protection if it's on.

Before running a full scan it's recommended to clear your cookies / internet temporary files and all the temporary files you can find (this should lower the total files to scan significantly).
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 (x64)
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
i am going to look at the settings and see what is scanning, the same for Malwarebytes and David, thanks I will try that also
Well Robin, my full scan still has not finished. I guess it is worth doing anyway. 227k in an hour and three quarters.

I believe I've seen you on 9 forums already right? Same guy/girl?
not, guy, not girl, but woman, lol and yep that is me
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
Got his computer and noticed windows 8 not 8.1 is on it, did a bunch of scans, took off a few spyware, cleaned all temp files, did a chk disk and defrag, checked to make sure all security updates were done, only one antivirus program is on, ran ccleaner and removed old registry items. Tomorrow will put 8.1 on and see if it cleans up the problem
btw quick scans run 15-20 min. Have not checked long scans but i did check settings and found it was doing archives which could be why it was taking so long
will let you know once i put 8.1 on and sees what happens
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
now I cleaned everything up on this computer, took off a bunch of spyware, updated any drivers, prepared it for windows 8.1. During this whole thing I noticed he has 3 partitions on the drive, 1 is C one is E (recovery with 25gigs) one is F (another recovery with 10 gigs). When looking at Windows defender when it does a full scan it scans ALL Drives unless you do a Custom Scan and pick which drive. I have a feeling it was getting stuck on the E/F drive because when I tried clicking on them, Windows came up and said I could not get it, it was protected. So I am assuming neither could WD and that is why it took so long to do a scan. But I still continued to prepare it for 8.1
After installing 8.1 and checking everything out I did a custom scan and scanned only the C drive
The scan took 1 hour.

And I tell my clients not to do a full scan unless something is suspected, if he got a Trojan or virus. I tell them to do a weekly Quick scan.
So everything now is great! I think he will be very happy with the results especially since he was so frustrated with windows 8 (besides I put on Classic Shell to make it a bit more user friendly and tweaked Windows 8.1 in the Metro side to make it also more user friendly.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
118
Location
USA
Nice job robin9...wish they were all that easy....lol.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Jimbo
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom build
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X 4 965 BE
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-MA790X-DS4
    Memory
    G-Skill 8 GB PC 8500
    Graphics Card(s)
    AMD XFX HD Radeon 6790D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    2l Samsung SyncMaster S20B300
    Screen Resolution
    1600 X 900
    Hard Drives
    Seagate Barracuda 320 GB w/OS
    Seagate Barracuda 1 TB data storage
    PSU
    Ultra X4 750 watt fully modular
    Case
    Thermaltake OverSeer RX 1 fulltower
    Cooling
    Cooler Master Hyper212 120mm
    Keyboard
    Logitech G510
    Mouse
    Razor DeathAdder 3.5
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us north carolina

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

TechnoMage

Active Member
Power User
Joined
Nov 16, 2013
Messages
395
Location
Central Florida
Robin9

Over the years, I've determined one thing.....Windows (any version) right out of the box runs at about 30 to 40% efficiency.
If you're a professional PC person, you should have come to the same conclusion.

It's seldom that I work on a PC for the first time, that I cannot almost Double the running efficiency. It's what I've been doing for the past 30+ years. Call it my speciallity.

Speaking of efficiency, I suspect that there are AV/AS programs that will run a lot faster than WD.
But first you have to get rid of the built in redundancy in Windows. I personally NEVER trust MS to protect Windows.
Look at the horrible track record they have with I.E. !!!

Good Luck!
TechnoMage :cool:
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win-8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gigabyte
    CPU
    AMD 8 Core
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte
    Memory
    PNY, 4GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA, GForce 210
    Monitor(s) Displays
    21" HP
    Hard Drives
    Seagate SATA III, 500GB
    PSU
    Antec Earthwatts, 650
    Occupation
    Retired Computer Tech.
    Case
    Pac-Man Case
    Keyboard
    HP Professional
    Mouse
    GearHead Wireless
    Internet Speed
    5 Meg
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    AVG Free
    Other Info
    Using Classic Shell on Win-8.1 pro
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
118
Location
USA
OK...what the heck is WD??????? OH CRAP .... windows defender.....never mind.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Jimbo
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom build
    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X 4 965 BE
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-MA790X-DS4
    Memory
    G-Skill 8 GB PC 8500
    Graphics Card(s)
    AMD XFX HD Radeon 6790D
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    2l Samsung SyncMaster S20B300
    Screen Resolution
    1600 X 900
    Hard Drives
    Seagate Barracuda 320 GB w/OS
    Seagate Barracuda 1 TB data storage
    PSU
    Ultra X4 750 watt fully modular
    Case
    Thermaltake OverSeer RX 1 fulltower
    Cooling
    Cooler Master Hyper212 120mm
    Keyboard
    Logitech G510
    Mouse
    Razor DeathAdder 3.5
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us north carolina

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
Lol, WD windows Defender for short!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

robinb9

I am Woman! Hear Me Roar!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
1,116
Location
NJ
Actually WD is made especially for 8.1 and i find out of all the free ones for 8.1, it works the best and the easiest to use for an antivirus program. Of course it is not enough and Malwarebytes Pro compliments it greatly
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    4 Windows 7 Pro Sp1- 4 Win 8 Pro, 1- xp pro sp3
    Name
    Robin
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell Optiplex 390, 380, 3 Vostro Laptops (7 computers in all)
    CPU
    desktop/laptop
    Memory
    4gigs
    Graphics Card(s)
    atm randioum
    Hard Drives
    350,250
    Occupation
    IT
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new jersey

etp7

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
3
Had the same issue on one of 5 computers. All with the same operating system and software. Very odd! Did the C:\ without issue and turned on hidden drives. I only see one drive so something else is going on with the Dell 3135.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    dell 3135
    CPU
    amd a6
    Memory
    4 gb
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    SPYBOT / DEFENDER
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

etp7

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
3
essentials

I noticed in programs it says essentials is installed but in the execute icon it says defender. Is it possible there are two versions of this?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    dell 3135
    CPU
    amd a6
    Memory
    4 gb
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    SPYBOT / DEFENDER
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

etp7

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2015
Messages
3
Yep, the other 4 do not list essentials as a program. Must be Dell special IE 8.0 load and I upgraded to 8.1 so it must have left essential in the wood pile.

So movie maker is in essentials.:mad:
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    dell 3135
    CPU
    amd a6
    Memory
    4 gb
    Browser
    IE 11
    Antivirus
    SPYBOT / DEFENDER
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top