Solved Web Site's Security Certificate

Ken429

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2013
Messages
92
I have several Windows 7 and 8.1 systems that can access the "Acronis Forum" web site without any problems. For some reason one system running W8.1 gives me the Security Certificate error when I try to access it. I can eventually log on but as soon as I try to enter a post it kicks me off again. Can someone please give me a clue on what happened to cause this error to start popping up. I don't think there are any other web sites that I access with this system that have this problem?
 

Attachments

  • Capture_Forum.PNG
    Capture_Forum.PNG
    32.8 KB · Views: 59

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W.8.1 Pro Update 1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    3770K
    Motherboard
    ASRock Z77 OC Formula
    Memory
    GSkill 2400-10
    Graphics Card(s)
    None
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung S27B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080
    Hard Drives
    Mushkin Chronos DX-7 240GB, WD Raptor 250Gb, 3 -WD Raptors 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X750
    Case
    Corsair 800D
    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee HD 3X120 Rad
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse
    Microsoft Exporer 2.0
    Browser
    IE11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebytes
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us indiana

xunile

Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
93
I'd check to make sure the Time and Date are correct on the system. Have you tried accessing the site from several different browsers like Chrome and Firefox, does the same thing happen?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7

Ken429

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2013
Messages
92
The date and time are correct - updated from time.windows.com. Yes, I tried Chrome and got the same result. Yes, I tried the workaround from Microsoft Support but it don't show the stuff that the workaround suggests doing.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W.8.1 Pro Update 1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    3770K
    Motherboard
    ASRock Z77 OC Formula
    Memory
    GSkill 2400-10
    Graphics Card(s)
    None
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung S27B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080
    Hard Drives
    Mushkin Chronos DX-7 240GB, WD Raptor 250Gb, 3 -WD Raptors 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X750
    Case
    Corsair 800D
    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee HD 3X120 Rad
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse
    Microsoft Exporer 2.0
    Browser
    IE11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebytes
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us indiana

ARC1020

New Member
Power User
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
446
If your date and time are correct and windows updates is switched on, then I'd ask Acronis if they're aware of any problems. Their certificate is less than 2 weeks old, so it's possible they could have had some problems.

What address is in the address bar? Does it show https://forum.acronis.com/ ?

If you click 'Continue to this website (not recommended)', I doubt there will be a padlock in the address bar which you can click on due to the cert problem, but does it give you some other way to view the certificate it says has a problem?

This is what you should see, and obviously the domain in the address bar should match:

Cert001.jpg

Cert002.jpg
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8 64-bit

Ken429

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2013
Messages
92
ARC1020,
Results are slightly different? There is an .eu in address. What does that mean? Like I said above, I have three systems and only one is having this problem. I'm about read to do a fresh install since I'm experience some other strange things on the one machine.
 

Attachments

  • Capture_Acronis.PNG
    Capture_Acronis.PNG
    55.9 KB · Views: 356
  • Capture_Acronis_2.PNG
    Capture_Acronis_2.PNG
    46.1 KB · Views: 349

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W.8.1 Pro Update 1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    3770K
    Motherboard
    ASRock Z77 OC Formula
    Memory
    GSkill 2400-10
    Graphics Card(s)
    None
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung S27B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080
    Hard Drives
    Mushkin Chronos DX-7 240GB, WD Raptor 250Gb, 3 -WD Raptors 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X750
    Case
    Corsair 800D
    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee HD 3X120 Rad
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse
    Microsoft Exporer 2.0
    Browser
    IE11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebytes
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us indiana

ARC1020

New Member
Power User
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
446
There are two problems with that certificate, it's not just the .eu.com instead of .com, but also the WWW. part that's incorrect and that's why you're getting a certificate mismatch error, because the certificate is for an entirely different address.

Why you're being directed to that .eu.com certificate from just that one computer I'm not sure, but it's obviously not right and therefore IE is correct in not trusting that certificate. If all three of your computers are using the same DNS server, then it appears there's something particular to that one PC.

Maybe there's some more knowledgeable people on here that can give you some other things to check, however before investigating the malicious route, I guess the first thing I'd do is contact Acronis and ask them whether www[.]acronis.eu.com is actually a legitimate domain they own and therefore a SSL certificate they've registered, and then go from there depending what they have to say about it and the problem you're experiencing.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8 64-bit

Ken429

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2013
Messages
92
ARC1020,
Thanks for the information and efforts. Like I said above, there are a couple of strange things going on with this system. Even though I have resisted, a fresh REINSTALL, is the next step. I don't know if something got corrupted or if I got some strange Virus very early on (I've restored back to a November backup) but it's time to reload!

I reinstalled W8/8.1 and the problem went away!!
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W.8.1 Pro Update 1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom
    CPU
    3770K
    Motherboard
    ASRock Z77 OC Formula
    Memory
    GSkill 2400-10
    Graphics Card(s)
    None
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Samsung S27B350
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1080
    Hard Drives
    Mushkin Chronos DX-7 240GB, WD Raptor 250Gb, 3 -WD Raptors 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X750
    Case
    Corsair 800D
    Cooling
    Swiftech Apogee HD 3X120 Rad
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse
    Microsoft Exporer 2.0
    Browser
    IE11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebytes
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us indiana

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top