Unable to connect to 5GHz Wifi on NETGEAR Tri-Band Router

Anderson224

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
4
Hello

I recently got the newest NETGEAR router device, the NETGEAR Nighthawk X8 AC5300 Smart WiFi Router, and I am unable to connect to the 5GHz WiFi it provides on its Tri-band WiFi. I am currently only on its 2.4GHz WIFI, which I assume is lesser than the 5G. I am able to connect to the 5GHz on my smart phone, so I know it exists from the router. I am running a windows 8.1 currently on a desktop on an HP Envy 700-213 Desktop PC.

Edit:
[DEL]My computer supports 802.11b, 802.11g, and 802.11n radio types - which supports 5GHz WiFi[/DEL]
My adapter is a Ralink RT3290 802.11bgn Wi-Fi Adapter

Any ideas for why I am unable to connect to this WiFi?
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1

strollin

Old Guys Rule!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
5,376
Location
N. Calif
The most likely explanation is that the wifi adapter in your HP Envy 700-213 doesn't support the 5Ghz band.

If you really want to connect at 5Ghz you will need to get a new wifi adapter for your computer.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W10 Pro (desktop), W10 (laptop), W10 Pro (tablet), W10 (laptop)
    Name
    Bruce
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home built i7-8700K, Toshiba Satellite S55-A Laptop, MS Surface Pro 3, Dell Inspiron 15 5000
    CPU
    3.7Ghz Core i7-8700K, 2.4Ghz Core i7-3630QM, 1.9Ghz Core i5 4300U, 2.8Ghz Core i5 6200U
    Motherboard
    ASUS TUF Z370-Pro Gaming, Toshiba, MS, Dell
    Memory
    16G, 12G, 4G, 8G
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX 1050, Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Sound Card
    ATI High Definition Audio (Built-in to mobo)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell S2817Q 28", 15.6"
    Screen Resolution
    3840x2160, 1366x768 (laptop)
    Hard Drives
    500GB ssd boot drive with 2 & 10TB Data on Desktop, 512GB ssd for laptop, 128GB SSD tablet, 500GB ssd laptop
    PSU
    Corsair CX 750M
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Antec 100
    Cooling
    Coolermaster CM 212+
    Keyboard
    IBM Model M - used continuously since 1986
    Mouse
    Microsoft IntelliMouse
    Internet Speed
    120Mbps/6Mbps down/up
    Browser
    FireFox
    Antivirus
    MSE on desktop, Defender on laptop
    Other Info
    Retired after working in the tech industry for 41 years. First 10 years as a Technician, the rest as a programmer/software engineer. After 1 year of retirement, I was bored so went back to work as a Robotic Process Automation Consultant.
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Anderson224

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
4
The most likely explanation is that the wifi adapter in your HP Envy 700-213 doesn't support the 5Ghz band.

If you really want to connect at 5Ghz you will need to get a new wifi adapter for your computer.

My computer supports 802.11b, 802.11g, and 802.11n radio types - Looked it up and said my wifi adapter supports 5GHz, so that shouldn't be the problem.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1

Ztruker

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
2,888
Location
Space coast of Florida

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Lenovo IdeaCenter K450
    CPU
    Intel Quad Core i7-4770 @ 3.4Ghz
    Motherboard
    Lenovo
    Memory
    16.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel Integrated HD Graphics
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    HP h2207
    Screen Resolution
    [email protected]
    Hard Drives
    250GB Samsung EVO SATA-3 SSD;
    2TB Seagate ST2000DM001 SATA-2;
    1.5TB Seagate ST3150041AS SATA
    PSU
    500W
    Keyboard
    Wired USB
    Mouse
    Wired USB
    Internet Speed
    3GB Up, 30GB Down
    Browser
    SeaMonkey
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender; MBAM Pro
    Other Info
    UEFI/GPT
    PLDS DVD-RW DH16AERSH
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

strollin

Old Guys Rule!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
5,376
Location
N. Calif
Do you see the 5Ghz connection in the list of available hotspots but are unable to connect to it?

Your wifi adapter needs to support the 802.11 AC standard in order to have dual band capabilities. Can you post the model of you wifi adapter?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W10 Pro (desktop), W10 (laptop), W10 Pro (tablet), W10 (laptop)
    Name
    Bruce
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home built i7-8700K, Toshiba Satellite S55-A Laptop, MS Surface Pro 3, Dell Inspiron 15 5000
    CPU
    3.7Ghz Core i7-8700K, 2.4Ghz Core i7-3630QM, 1.9Ghz Core i5 4300U, 2.8Ghz Core i5 6200U
    Motherboard
    ASUS TUF Z370-Pro Gaming, Toshiba, MS, Dell
    Memory
    16G, 12G, 4G, 8G
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX 1050, Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Sound Card
    ATI High Definition Audio (Built-in to mobo)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell S2817Q 28", 15.6"
    Screen Resolution
    3840x2160, 1366x768 (laptop)
    Hard Drives
    500GB ssd boot drive with 2 & 10TB Data on Desktop, 512GB ssd for laptop, 128GB SSD tablet, 500GB ssd laptop
    PSU
    Corsair CX 750M
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Antec 100
    Cooling
    Coolermaster CM 212+
    Keyboard
    IBM Model M - used continuously since 1986
    Mouse
    Microsoft IntelliMouse
    Internet Speed
    120Mbps/6Mbps down/up
    Browser
    FireFox
    Antivirus
    MSE on desktop, Defender on laptop
    Other Info
    Retired after working in the tech industry for 41 years. First 10 years as a Technician, the rest as a programmer/software engineer. After 1 year of retirement, I was bored so went back to work as a Robotic Process Automation Consultant.
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Anderson224

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2015
Messages
4
Do you see the 5Ghz connection in the list of available hotspots but are unable to connect to it?

Your wifi adapter needs to support the 802.11 AC standard in order to have dual band capabilities. Can you post the model of you wifi adapter?

Ah, I see now - my adapter is a Ralink RT3290 802.11bgn Wi-Fi Adapter, and doesn't support 802.11ac. Do you know where I can get a WiFi adapter/Ethernet card that supports 802.11ac (stores like Best Buy, etc.)?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1

popeye

New Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
3,090
Location
United States

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    Name
    Steve
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Acer V3 771G-6443
    CPU
    i5-3230m
    Motherboard
    Acer VA70_HC (U3E1)
    Memory
    8GB DDR3 PC3-12800 (800 MHz)
    Graphics Card(s)
    HD4000 + GeForce GT 730M
    Sound Card
    Realtek High Definition Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17" Generic PnP Display on Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Screen Resolution
    1600x900 pixels
    Hard Drives
    Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250 GB
    ADATA SSD SP900 128GB
    PSU
    90 watt brick
    Occupation
    Old Geek
    Mouse
    Bluetooth
    Antivirus
    Comodo
    Other Info
    Asus RT-AC56R dual-band WRT router (Merlin firmware). Intel 7260.HMWWB.R dual-band ac wireless adapter.
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us arkansas

broe23

Retired from the grind
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Feb 16, 2014
Messages
3,468
Location
Central IL
Open up a Command window and at the prompt enter without the quotes "netsh wlan show all". You can also show the wlan device driver info by using the following in a command window "netsh wlan show drivers"
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Linux Mint 17.2
    Name
    Greg
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C850D-st3nx1
    CPU
    AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon (tm) HD Graphics 1.40 GHZ
    Memory
    12GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    AMD Radeon™ HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    Realtek HD
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD
    Screen Resolution
    1366 x 768
    Hard Drives
    Crucial M500 240GB SSD
    Occupation
    Retired
    Mouse
    Logitech M525
    Internet Speed
    45/6 - ATT U-Verse
    Browser
    Google Chrome
    Antivirus
    None needed. It is Linux.
    Other Info
    Arris NVG589 Gateway; Router - Cisco RV320; Switch - Netgear GS108 8-Port Switch & Trendnet TEG-S50g 5-Port Switch; Access Points - Engenius ECB350, Trendnet TEW-638APB; NAS - Lenovo ix2-4; Printer - Brother HL-2280DW; Air Print Server - Lantronix XPrintServer

    A/V UPS - Tripp-Lite Smart 1500LCD 1500 Va/900 W.
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us illinois

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top