Skype 5.5 for Windows update: Support for Windows 8

Airbot

-------------------------
Super Moderators
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
1,252
Today we have released an update to Skype 5.5 for Windows.

With this update we have introduced support for Microsoft Windows 8.


Full release notes for 5.5.0.117 are:

New features:

Introduced Microsoft Windows 8 support
Skype 5.5 for Windows
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    LCARS
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Monkey Trainer Extraordinaire
    CPU
    My toilet habits are a private matter, thanks.
    Motherboard
    She finds stuff to do.
    Memory
    Not that I can recall.
    Graphics Card(s)
    XXX rated
    Sound Card
    Huh?
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Monitors are lizards.
    Screen Resolution
    I haven't found one yet.
    Hard Drives
    Sure isn't easy driving.
    PSU
    Again, toilet habits are a private matter.
    Occupation
    Prehistoric Monkey Trainer
    Case
    Pending
    Cooling
    2 ice cubes.
    Keyboard
    Nar, it has other key friends.
    Mouse
    Cat
    Internet Speed
    Warp 9.9

blackroseMD1

New Member
VIP Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
178
Location
San Diego, CA
Thanks for the heads up! Finally got it to actually install.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Tech Preview 10041 x64
    Name
    Brian
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom built
    CPU
    AMD FX-8350 8-core Black Edition @ 4.0 Ghz (4.2 Turbo)
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
    Memory
    16GB DDR3 1333
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus R9 290 DirectCU II OC, Gigabyte R9 290 Windforce OC in Xfire
    Sound Card
    Integrated w/ Creative A250 2.1 speakers
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Main: Asus VN289H 28" Secondary: Acer G246HL 24"
    Screen Resolution
    3840x1080
    Hard Drives
    128 GB SanDisk Ultra Plus (Windows drive)

    240 GB Crucial M500 SSD (Data drive)

    1 TB WDC WD10EACS 7200RPM HDD (Data drive)

    2 TB Seagate Expansion Desktop external HDD (Backup drive)
    PSU
    900w Antec HCG-900
    Occupation
    National Director of Training - StandUp For Kids
    Case
    Raidmax Agusta Full ATX
    Cooling
    Corsair H80 liquid
    Keyboard
    Cooler Master Devastator KB24
    Mouse
    Cooler Master Devastator MS2K 1000/1600/2000 DPI
    Internet Speed
    100 Mbps cable
    Browser
    Chrome
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

vrosa

Tech Addict
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
4,370
Location
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Interesting, support for a preview build ! :)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10.0.10122
    Name
    Vladimir Rosa
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    My Build - Vorttex Ultimate
    CPU
    Core i7 @ 4500 MHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Memory
    32GB DDR3 @ 1822 MHz (OC)
    Graphics Card(s)
    Radeon R9 280X 3GB @ 1180 / 6800 MHz
    Sound Card
    7.1 HDA
    Monitor(s) Displays
    LCD LG 22" + CRT LG 17"
    Screen Resolution
    1760 x 1320 / 1280 x 960
    Hard Drives
    1 x 240 GB SSD (System)
    3 x 500 GB HDD (Data/Media)
    1 x 2000 GB e-HDD (Backup)
    PSU
    ThermalTake 1000W PSU
    Occupation
    Senior Geologist (M.Sc.) and Computer Technician
    Case
    Corsair Carbide R300
    Cooling
    Corsair H60 (Push-Pull)
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Wireless Keyboard
    Mouse
    Microsoft Wireless Mouse
    Internet Speed
    60 Mbps (Down) 5 Mbps (Up)
    Browser
    IE, FF, Chrome
    Antivirus
    AVG Internet Security 2015
    Other Info
    Some wired stuff
    Country Flag
    Brazil

sjengie

Member
Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
11
what ever i try to dowload it still is 5.3 !
eventhough the site says 5.5
what do i do wrong ?
5.3 crashes on my Acer Iconia w8
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8

Airbot

-------------------------
Super Moderators
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
1,252

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    LCARS
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Monkey Trainer Extraordinaire
    CPU
    My toilet habits are a private matter, thanks.
    Motherboard
    She finds stuff to do.
    Memory
    Not that I can recall.
    Graphics Card(s)
    XXX rated
    Sound Card
    Huh?
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Monitors are lizards.
    Screen Resolution
    I haven't found one yet.
    Hard Drives
    Sure isn't easy driving.
    PSU
    Again, toilet habits are a private matter.
    Occupation
    Prehistoric Monkey Trainer
    Case
    Pending
    Cooling
    2 ice cubes.
    Keyboard
    Nar, it has other key friends.
    Mouse
    Cat
    Internet Speed
    Warp 9.9

Aegis

Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
3
Location
SA
Today we have released an update to Skype 5.5 for Windows.

With this update we have introduced support for Microsoft Windows 8.


Full release notes for 5.5.0.117 are:

New features:

Introduced Microsoft Windows 8 support
Skype 5.5 for Windows

Thanks, I didn't expect Skype to work for months or until the Metro Beta :D

Interesting, support for a preview build ! :)

The Process Hacker guys added Win8 support and a few features too: Process Hacker Forums - Process Hacker 2.22

What I think is interesting is when you add the 'OS Context' column and it's the only non-Microsoft app showing as running in the Windows 8 context :crazy:
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Metro 8102
    Country Flag
    Australia
    State/Region Flag
    au south australia

TeamRetic

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2011
Messages
8
Skype seem to not work on mine at all. It installed fine, but when I try to get on the program it just breaks. It stops responding right away and crashes. I am going to try to install the newest version and see if it works.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7 and Windows 8
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Compaq notebook
    CPU
    Celron
    Motherboard
    don't know
    Memory
    2GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    don't know
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

zigzag3143

Banned
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
602
The newest version does the same thing. There is a workaround. I have tried all the tricks (launching from desktop, reg edit, etc.) The only thing that works is to re-install every launch, so I launch the installer (takes 2 mins) and it works every time.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    WCP
    Name
    Ken
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    CPU
    [email protected] 4.9 Hz
    Memory
    64 gig
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia 9600
    Sound Card
    integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    laptop
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900
    Hard Drives
    300gig internal and a bunch ext
    Cooling
    not much
    Keyboard
    Built-in
    Mouse
    Logitch Anywhere Mx wireless mouse
    Internet Speed
    50 down 1.5 up
    Country Flag
    Micronesia

Airbot

-------------------------
Super Moderators
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
1,252
Yeah, even though they proclaimed to add Windows 8 support, it still has issues with it.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    LCARS
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Monkey Trainer Extraordinaire
    CPU
    My toilet habits are a private matter, thanks.
    Motherboard
    She finds stuff to do.
    Memory
    Not that I can recall.
    Graphics Card(s)
    XXX rated
    Sound Card
    Huh?
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Monitors are lizards.
    Screen Resolution
    I haven't found one yet.
    Hard Drives
    Sure isn't easy driving.
    PSU
    Again, toilet habits are a private matter.
    Occupation
    Prehistoric Monkey Trainer
    Case
    Pending
    Cooling
    2 ice cubes.
    Keyboard
    Nar, it has other key friends.
    Mouse
    Cat
    Internet Speed
    Warp 9.9

mikedl

Removed by request
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
520
The newest version does the same thing. There is a workaround. I have tried all the tricks (launching from desktop, reg edit, etc.) The only thing that works is to re-install every launch, so I launch the installer (takes 2 mins) and it works every time.

I have to do the same thing with my Logitech mouse software.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8, x64, DP8102 - Win7 Ultimate x64, Dual Boot
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba
    CPU
    Core 2 Duo T5500
    Motherboard
    Intel
    Memory
    4 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel 965
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Laptop 17", Gateway 20"
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900 (x2)
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

zigzag3143

Banned
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
602
There is a newer version (5.6.105) but it does the same thing.
 

Attachments

  • 10-5-2011 11-58-50 PM.png
    10-5-2011 11-58-50 PM.png
    23.5 KB · Views: 152

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    WCP
    Name
    Ken
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    CPU
    [email protected] 4.9 Hz
    Memory
    64 gig
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia 9600
    Sound Card
    integrated
    Monitor(s) Displays
    laptop
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900
    Hard Drives
    300gig internal and a bunch ext
    Cooling
    not much
    Keyboard
    Built-in
    Mouse
    Logitch Anywhere Mx wireless mouse
    Internet Speed
    50 down 1.5 up
    Country Flag
    Micronesia

Avalon

Away for a bit
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
584
Location
Australia
I imagine it is rather hard to develop for an Alpha OS with so many changes yet to be made.
Isn't it a bit tedious to reinstall it every time you run it?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Dev Preview x64
    Name
    Alexis
    CPU
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Motherboard
    Asus Rampage III
    Memory
    G Skill 4GB DDR3 2000MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX570 1.25GB DDR5
    PSU
    Antec ATX TruePower 750W
    Occupation
    Entrepreneur
    Case
    Antec Lanboy Air Red
    Country Flag
    Australia
    State/Region Flag
    uk england

mikedl

Removed by request
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
520

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8, x64, DP8102 - Win7 Ultimate x64, Dual Boot
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba
    CPU
    Core 2 Duo T5500
    Motherboard
    Intel
    Memory
    4 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel 965
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Laptop 17", Gateway 20"
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900 (x2)
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

Avalon

Away for a bit
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
584
Location
Australia

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Dev Preview x64
    Name
    Alexis
    CPU
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Motherboard
    Asus Rampage III
    Memory
    G Skill 4GB DDR3 2000MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX570 1.25GB DDR5
    PSU
    Antec ATX TruePower 750W
    Occupation
    Entrepreneur
    Case
    Antec Lanboy Air Red
    Country Flag
    Australia
    State/Region Flag
    uk england

mikedl

Removed by request
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
520

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8, x64, DP8102 - Win7 Ultimate x64, Dual Boot
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba
    CPU
    Core 2 Duo T5500
    Motherboard
    Intel
    Memory
    4 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel 965
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Laptop 17", Gateway 20"
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900 (x2)
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

Avalon

Away for a bit
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
584
Location
Australia
Eh, fair enough. Haha. Can you not keep it running with hybrid boot?
Hybrid boot? Not sure what that is ...
Well, instead of shutting down, we now have hybrid boot, which is sort of like hibernating. Can't you just keep the process in the tray between boots?
Here's the link: Hybrid Boot
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Dev Preview x64
    Name
    Alexis
    CPU
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Motherboard
    Asus Rampage III
    Memory
    G Skill 4GB DDR3 2000MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX570 1.25GB DDR5
    PSU
    Antec ATX TruePower 750W
    Occupation
    Entrepreneur
    Case
    Antec Lanboy Air Red
    Country Flag
    Australia
    State/Region Flag
    uk england

mikedl

Removed by request
Joined
Jan 19, 2011
Messages
520
Ah, thanks, Avalon, but I have to switch back and forth between Win7 and Win8 8102 for work.

Even if I just log off of Win8 8102, I still have to re-install the Logitech Software in order to use my mouse button customizations.

EDIT: I just tried the hybrid boot and the settings remained. Still, with all of the customizing I do (requiring logging off and then back on) and the necessity to boot into Win7 regularly, it's not a real solution for me in this instance.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8, x64, DP8102 - Win7 Ultimate x64, Dual Boot
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba
    CPU
    Core 2 Duo T5500
    Motherboard
    Intel
    Memory
    4 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel 965
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Laptop 17", Gateway 20"
    Screen Resolution
    1440x900 (x2)
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us florida

Avalon

Away for a bit
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2011
Messages
584
Location
Australia
EDIT: I just tried the hybrid boot and the settings remained. Still, with all of the customizing I do (requiring logging off and then back on) and the necessity to boot into Win7 regularly, it's not a real solution for me in this instance.
Well fair enough then, and to each their own.
In time this error will be fixed, so I guess there's not much else you can do until then. :(
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8 Dev Preview x64
    Name
    Alexis
    CPU
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Motherboard
    Asus Rampage III
    Memory
    G Skill 4GB DDR3 2000MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX570 1.25GB DDR5
    PSU
    Antec ATX TruePower 750W
    Occupation
    Entrepreneur
    Case
    Antec Lanboy Air Red
    Country Flag
    Australia
    State/Region Flag
    uk england

Airbot

-------------------------
Super Moderators
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
1,252
Windows 8 crashing should be fixed now.

5.6 released

information   Information
Full release notes for 5.6.0.110 and 5.5.0.124 are:

Changes:


  • Removed Google product bundling
  • Added attribution of used third party software
Fixed issues:

CategoryDescription
Click-to-CallThere was a memory leak in Firefox plugin
GeneralSometimes Skype crashed at startup on Windows 8

Skype
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    LCARS
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Monkey Trainer Extraordinaire
    CPU
    My toilet habits are a private matter, thanks.
    Motherboard
    She finds stuff to do.
    Memory
    Not that I can recall.
    Graphics Card(s)
    XXX rated
    Sound Card
    Huh?
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Monitors are lizards.
    Screen Resolution
    I haven't found one yet.
    Hard Drives
    Sure isn't easy driving.
    PSU
    Again, toilet habits are a private matter.
    Occupation
    Prehistoric Monkey Trainer
    Case
    Pending
    Cooling
    2 ice cubes.
    Keyboard
    Nar, it has other key friends.
    Mouse
    Cat
    Internet Speed
    Warp 9.9

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top