Solved Running a virtual machine on windows 8.1 NOT PRO edition

LinVl

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
5
Hello everyone,

Young student working on my master's thesis, I have to run a few programs only available on linux.

As seen on almost all the sources I visited, I installed VirtualBox and downloaded the last Ubuntu "iso" file. after having installed the new OS on virtualbox, I tried launching it and got the very often found "VT-x is disabled in the BIOS" error.

The solution also given in all the sources I visited is "enable Hyper-V" in the "windows features turn on or off" menu. Problem is : I can't find this option (I even looked in the least probable sub directories, just in case)

I found out this feature was only available for "Pro" versions of windows 8/8.1.

My question is : Is it feasible for me to run a virtual machine, or even run a machine on dual boot on my default-installed-windows 8 machine? I don't have the money to buy the pro package (which, for some reason, is MUCH more expensive than the "previous windows to 8.1 pro" update).

and If yes : how?

Best regards and thank you for reading,

LinVl


(PS : my hardware is more than sufficient: 64bits i7-4700HQ processor, 8Gb RAM DDR3l)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    Country Flag
    Belgium

alkaufmann

New Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2013
Messages
132
If you get a message that VT-x is disabled in the bios, did you go through the bios? If you find an option called hyper-threading, enable it. Hope that helps.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Masuhr - Black Corsair
    CPU
    Intel I7 4770k
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus VI Hero
    Memory
    Corsair Dominator 16GB DD3-1866
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus GTX 660 Ti
    Monitor(s) Displays
    ASUS PA248
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1200
    Hard Drives
    Revodrive 350 480GB
    SSD Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240GB Sata3
    HDD WD Red 2x2TB Sata3
    PSU
    Corsair 860i
    Case
    Cooler Master HAF X
    Cooling
    Corsair H100i
    Keyboard
    LG G19
    Mouse
    Microsoft Sidewinder X8
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE
    Antivirus
    MS Defender
    Other Info
    Logitech T650 Touchpad
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca british columbia

LinVl

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
5
Hi alkaufmann,

thanks for the fast response,

there is no "hyper-threading" options visible in the bios. but there is a "intel virtualization technology" option, which was already enabled.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    Country Flag
    Belgium

alkaufmann

New Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2013
Messages
132
Sorry that did not help. The only other thing I can suggest is make sure you have the latest version of Virtualbox.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Masuhr - Black Corsair
    CPU
    Intel I7 4770k
    Motherboard
    ASUS Maximus VI Hero
    Memory
    Corsair Dominator 16GB DD3-1866
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus GTX 660 Ti
    Monitor(s) Displays
    ASUS PA248
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1200
    Hard Drives
    Revodrive 350 480GB
    SSD Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240GB Sata3
    HDD WD Red 2x2TB Sata3
    PSU
    Corsair 860i
    Case
    Cooler Master HAF X
    Cooling
    Corsair H100i
    Keyboard
    LG G19
    Mouse
    Microsoft Sidewinder X8
    Internet Speed
    DSL
    Browser
    IE
    Antivirus
    MS Defender
    Other Info
    Logitech T650 Touchpad
    Country Flag
    Canada
    State/Region Flag
    ca british columbia

topgundcp

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
2,847
Location
San Jose - California

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1x64PWMC Ubuntu14.04x64 MintMate17x64
    Name
    Dino
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brewed
    CPU
    I7 4970K OC'ed @4.7 GHz
    Motherboard
    MSI-Z97
    Memory
    16 GB G-Skill Trident X @2400MHZ
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450
    Sound Card
    X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dual HP-W2408
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1200
    Hard Drives
    256 GB M2 sm951, (2) 500GB 850EVO, 5TB, 2 TB Seagate
    PSU
    Antec 850W
    Case
    Antec 1200
    Cooling
    Danger Den H20
    Keyboard
    Logitech
    Mouse
    Logitech Performance Mouse MX
    Internet Speed
    35/12mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

LinVl

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
5
hi topgundcp

For some reason, VmWare Player seems to work, unlike VirtualBox.

Thanks everyone for the help!

(btw, topgundcp, since your link sends to the procedure in order to install windows 8 on another computer, eventhough I'm sure you know it, I think it may make a confusion for people who might read the topic later on...)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    Country Flag
    Belgium

topgundcp

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
2,847
Location
San Jose - California
(btw, topgundcp, since your link sends to the procedure in order to install windows 8 on another computer, eventhough I'm sure you know it, I think it may make a confusion for people who might read the topic later on...)
Yes, it's the tutorial for installing Windows 8 but the procedure is the same if you want to install Linux Ubuntu/Mint etc...
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1x64PWMC Ubuntu14.04x64 MintMate17x64
    Name
    Dino
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brewed
    CPU
    I7 4970K OC'ed @4.7 GHz
    Motherboard
    MSI-Z97
    Memory
    16 GB G-Skill Trident X @2400MHZ
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450
    Sound Card
    X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dual HP-W2408
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1200
    Hard Drives
    256 GB M2 sm951, (2) 500GB 850EVO, 5TB, 2 TB Seagate
    PSU
    Antec 850W
    Case
    Antec 1200
    Cooling
    Danger Den H20
    Keyboard
    Logitech
    Mouse
    Logitech Performance Mouse MX
    Internet Speed
    35/12mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

strollin

Old Guys Rule!
VIP Member
Pro User
Joined
Oct 21, 2010
Messages
5,361
Location
N. Calif
I am running non Pro Win 8.1 (no Hyper-V here either) on my laptop and am able to run VirtualBox or VMWare Player without issue. Can't explain why it doesn't work for you. What version of VirtualBox were you using?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W10 Pro (desktop), W10 (laptop), W10 Pro (tablet), W10 (laptop)
    Name
    Bruce
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home built i7-8700K, Toshiba Satellite S55-A Laptop, MS Surface Pro 3, Dell Inspiron 15 5000
    CPU
    3.7Ghz Core i7-8700K, 2.4Ghz Core i7-3630QM, 1.9Ghz Core i5 4300U, 2.8Ghz Core i5 6200U
    Motherboard
    ASUS TUF Z370-Pro Gaming, Toshiba, MS, Dell
    Memory
    16G, 12G, 4G, 8G
    Graphics Card(s)
    Nvidia GTX 1050, Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Sound Card
    ATI High Definition Audio (Built-in to mobo)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell S2817Q 28", 15.6"
    Screen Resolution
    3840x2160, 1366x768 (laptop)
    Hard Drives
    500GB ssd boot drive with 2 & 10TB Data on Desktop, 512GB ssd for laptop, 128GB SSD tablet, 500GB ssd laptop
    PSU
    Corsair CX 750M
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Antec 100
    Cooling
    Coolermaster CM 212+
    Keyboard
    IBM Model M - used continuously since 1986
    Mouse
    Microsoft IntelliMouse
    Internet Speed
    120Mbps/6Mbps down/up
    Browser
    FireFox
    Antivirus
    MSE on desktop, Defender on laptop
    Other Info
    Retired after working in the tech industry for 41 years. First 10 years as a Technician, the rest as a programmer/software engineer. After 1 year of retirement, I was bored so went back to work as a Robotic Process Automation Consultant.
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

jimbo45

New Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
4,373
Location
Hafnarfjörður IS
Hi there

Try this first

I've made a post about creating a portable version of Windows run as a Virtual machine from a LINUX Host.

Try running that first -- that will test whether the machine is capable of running VM's or not.

Don't activate the Windows VM though if you want to run the windows system as the HOST and not the VM.

http://www.eightforums.com/installa...make-portable-windows-system-any-version.html

If this works then your machine is perfectly capable of running VM's so we need to check out another solution.

Cheers
jimbo
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Linux Centos 7, W8.1, W7, W2K3 Server W10
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    Monitor(s) Displays
    1 X LG 40 inch TV
    Hard Drives
    SSD's * 3 (Samsung 840 series) 250 GB
    2 X 3 TB sata
    5 X 1 TB sata
    Internet Speed
    0.12 GB/s (120Mb/s)
    Country Flag
    Iceland

LinVl

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
5
Hi jimbo45

Sorry, I didn't try your method since I managed to run a linux on my computer with VMware. (and the programs I need do run correctly!)

thank everyone for the help!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    Country Flag
    Belgium

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top