Oveclocked CPU not shown in Windows 8.1 Systems Properties

martienne

New Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
128
Location
European Union
I did a very successful overclock, taking my processor from 3.3 Ghz to 4.7 Ghz.
I can verify that in CPU-Z but it's not showing up in Windows Systems properties.
What do I have to do for Windows to recognize the overclock?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i5
    Motherboard
    ASUS
    Memory
    24 GB DDRAM3
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GT430 x2
    Sound Card
    Audial
    Monitor(s) Displays
    2 x 28" Sharp
    Screen Resolution
    1360 x 768
    Hard Drives
    Samsung, Seagate, Toshiba, Hitachi, Western Digital
    PSU
    750 watt
    Occupation
    IT
    Cooling
    liquid closed
    Country Flag
    Finland
    State/Region Flag
    uk cambridgeshire

CountMike

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
4,664
Location
Belgrade , Serbia
Same happened to me. You have to run WEI for windows to notice OC, otherwise Windows just takes it for granted that you have nominal frequency for that processor. AS WEI is pretty well hidden in 8.1, I used : Download ChrisPC Win Experience Index - MajorGeeks . After it run, it showed full frequency in windows system properties. in my case from 3.4GHz nominal for my processor to 4.2GHz OC.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Mike
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home made
    CPU
    AMD Ryzen7 2700x
    Motherboard
    Asus Prime x470 Pro
    Memory
    16GB Kingston 3600
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 evo 250GB
    Silicon Power V70 240GB SSD
    WD 1 TB Blue
    WD 2 TB Blue
    Bunch of backup HDDs.
    PSU
    Sharkoon, Silent Storm 660W
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Raidmax
    Cooling
    CCM Nepton 140xl
    Internet Speed
    40/2 Mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    WD
    Country Flag
    Serbia
    State/Region Flag
    ca ontario

VLTFV

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
9
My cpu has a base clock of 2.2, which is what it shows on sys properties.
I can force turbo boost to 2.9Ghz, and underclock it all the way to 800Mhz.
When on battery with no clock override, it fluctuates between 1.2 and 1.8 Ghz.

All these values are shown in real time on the task manager.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 64bit
    Computer type
    Laptop
    CPU
    i7-3632qm
    Graphics Card(s)
    gt650m
    Screen Resolution
    1366*768
    Cooling
    laptops need better damn cooling

Dude

Active Member
Power User
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
403
System properties shows the default value.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dude
    CPU
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU [email protected] 4.5 GHZ Turbo
    Motherboard
    MSI Z77MA-G45 (MS-7759)
    Memory
    8.00 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    Graphics Card(s)
    PNY GTX 760
    Sound Card
    Realtek High Definition
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell S23O9W, HP L1710
    Screen Resolution
    DELL-1920 x 1080 HP-1280 x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial m4 256 SSD WD 7200RPM 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X650 Gold
    Case
    Zalman Z12
    Cooling
    Antec Kuhler 920
    Keyboard
    Logitech
    Mouse
    MSI DS100 Interceptor
    Internet Speed
    50 down 5 up
    Browser
    Chrome, IE 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    Logitech X-620 Speakers

CountMike

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
4,664
Location
Belgrade , Serbia
System properties shows the default value.
That it does but running WEI fixes it. It pushes CPU so it works fastest possible to it's settings. That's how I fixed that problem on my system. When I go to System in control panel it used to show default speed for processor, after ruining WEI it showed full speed set by BIOS. I don't have turbo, Cool&Quiet or C1, processor is always on 4.2 GHz.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Mike
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home made
    CPU
    AMD Ryzen7 2700x
    Motherboard
    Asus Prime x470 Pro
    Memory
    16GB Kingston 3600
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 evo 250GB
    Silicon Power V70 240GB SSD
    WD 1 TB Blue
    WD 2 TB Blue
    Bunch of backup HDDs.
    PSU
    Sharkoon, Silent Storm 660W
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Raidmax
    Cooling
    CCM Nepton 140xl
    Internet Speed
    40/2 Mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    WD
    Country Flag
    Serbia
    State/Region Flag
    ca ontario

Dude

Active Member
Power User
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
403
Thanks CountMike, I never had to do that
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dude
    CPU
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU [email protected] 4.5 GHZ Turbo
    Motherboard
    MSI Z77MA-G45 (MS-7759)
    Memory
    8.00 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    Graphics Card(s)
    PNY GTX 760
    Sound Card
    Realtek High Definition
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell S23O9W, HP L1710
    Screen Resolution
    DELL-1920 x 1080 HP-1280 x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial m4 256 SSD WD 7200RPM 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X650 Gold
    Case
    Zalman Z12
    Cooling
    Antec Kuhler 920
    Keyboard
    Logitech
    Mouse
    MSI DS100 Interceptor
    Internet Speed
    50 down 5 up
    Browser
    Chrome, IE 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    Logitech X-620 Speakers

CountMike

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
4,664
Location
Belgrade , Serbia
Thanks CountMike, I never had to do that
It did not carry on from Win8. Win8 used to run WEI at the installation time, 8.1 does not do that.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Mike
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home made
    CPU
    AMD Ryzen7 2700x
    Motherboard
    Asus Prime x470 Pro
    Memory
    16GB Kingston 3600
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 evo 250GB
    Silicon Power V70 240GB SSD
    WD 1 TB Blue
    WD 2 TB Blue
    Bunch of backup HDDs.
    PSU
    Sharkoon, Silent Storm 660W
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Raidmax
    Cooling
    CCM Nepton 140xl
    Internet Speed
    40/2 Mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    WD
    Country Flag
    Serbia
    State/Region Flag
    ca ontario

martienne

New Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
128
Location
European Union
Same happened to me. You have to run WEI for windows to notice OC, otherwise Windows just takes it for granted that you have nominal frequency for that processor. AS WEI is pretty well hidden in 8.1, I used : Download ChrisPC Win Experience Index - MajorGeeks . After it run, it showed full frequency in windows system properties. in my case from 3.4GHz nominal for my processor to 4.2GHz OC.

Thanks for the tip, Mike. It made perfect sense to me to run WEI, but it actually didn't make any difference..? Screenshot below.

One trick that seemed to work (but failed to report the right speed) was to delete a file called intelppm.sys from C:\Windows\System32\drivers but the effect only lasted until I did some more changes, and the figure reported was 1 GHz lower than the actual.....

I am attaching a picture to show what I mean. In CPU-Z (left) Core Speed is reported as 4.8 GHz. I am right, aren't I ?! :think: It's really clocked to 4.8 Ghz, right?

But in Windows 8, the Core speed is reported at 3.30 Ghz (it's the rightmost value that should change, where it says "Processor").

In Windows 7 it got updated properly. The value that I highlighted was giving the value that I clocked it to.
But in Windows 8.1 nothing happened. (Full resolution picture http://images.vfl.ru/ii/1398968053/895e0222/5006266.png)






 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i5
    Motherboard
    ASUS
    Memory
    24 GB DDRAM3
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GT430 x2
    Sound Card
    Audial
    Monitor(s) Displays
    2 x 28" Sharp
    Screen Resolution
    1360 x 768
    Hard Drives
    Samsung, Seagate, Toshiba, Hitachi, Western Digital
    PSU
    750 watt
    Occupation
    IT
    Cooling
    liquid closed
    Country Flag
    Finland
    State/Region Flag
    uk cambridgeshire

CountMike

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
4,664
Location
Belgrade , Serbia
Hmmmm, CPU-Z iz right, WEI just about where it should be (wander what it would take to make it to the max 9 ?) Mine is 7.9 and it's much lesser processor.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Mike
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home made
    CPU
    AMD Ryzen7 2700x
    Motherboard
    Asus Prime x470 Pro
    Memory
    16GB Kingston 3600
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 evo 250GB
    Silicon Power V70 240GB SSD
    WD 1 TB Blue
    WD 2 TB Blue
    Bunch of backup HDDs.
    PSU
    Sharkoon, Silent Storm 660W
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Raidmax
    Cooling
    CCM Nepton 140xl
    Internet Speed
    40/2 Mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    WD
    Country Flag
    Serbia
    State/Region Flag
    ca ontario

martienne

New Member
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Messages
128
Location
European Union
Hmmmm, CPU-Z iz right, WEI just about where it should be (wander what it would take to make it to the max 9 ?) Mine is 7.9 and it's much lesser processor.

Oh, I am not worried about the WEI score per se.
I just want the Windows SYSTEMS properties to report the correct clock speed.
It just bugs me that I have this great speed and Windows doesn't report it.

The reason that my WEI score is low is because I have mediocre Graphics cards. It's not a problem since I do no gaming...
Also, I have a regular hard drive, nothing special. To get a top WEI score you have to have one of those solid state Hard drives, or whatever it's called. I have normal mechanical drives and Sata 3 cables.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i5
    Motherboard
    ASUS
    Memory
    24 GB DDRAM3
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GT430 x2
    Sound Card
    Audial
    Monitor(s) Displays
    2 x 28" Sharp
    Screen Resolution
    1360 x 768
    Hard Drives
    Samsung, Seagate, Toshiba, Hitachi, Western Digital
    PSU
    750 watt
    Occupation
    IT
    Cooling
    liquid closed
    Country Flag
    Finland
    State/Region Flag
    uk cambridgeshire

topgundcp

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
Nov 4, 2012
Messages
2,847
Location
San Jose - California
Thanks CountMike, I never had to do that
It did not carry on from Win8. Win8 used to run WEI at the installation time, 8.1 does not do that.
I don't think it makes any difference whether you run WEI or not. Here's a fresh Windows 8.1 installed and it all shows correctly.
Here are the screen shots:

2014-05-01_18-42-36.png

2014-05-01_18-43-14.png

2014-05-01_18-43-41.png
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1x64PWMC Ubuntu14.04x64 MintMate17x64
    Name
    Dino
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brewed
    CPU
    I7 4970K OC'ed @4.7 GHz
    Motherboard
    MSI-Z97
    Memory
    16 GB G-Skill Trident X @2400MHZ
    Graphics Card(s)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450
    Sound Card
    X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Series
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dual HP-W2408
    Screen Resolution
    1920X1200
    Hard Drives
    256 GB M2 sm951, (2) 500GB 850EVO, 5TB, 2 TB Seagate
    PSU
    Antec 850W
    Case
    Antec 1200
    Cooling
    Danger Den H20
    Keyboard
    Logitech
    Mouse
    Logitech Performance Mouse MX
    Internet Speed
    35/12mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

CountMike

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
4,664
Location
Belgrade , Serbia
Hmmmm, CPU-Z iz right, WEI just about where it should be (wander what it would take to make it to the max 9 ?) Mine is 7.9 and it's much lesser processor.

Oh, I am not worried about the WEI score per se.
I just want the Windows SYSTEMS properties to report the correct clock speed.
It just bugs me that I have this great speed and Windows doesn't report it.

The reason that my WEI score is low is because I have mediocre Graphics cards. It's not a problem since I do no gaming...
Also, I have a regular hard drive, nothing special. To get a top WEI score you have to have one of those solid state Hard drives, or whatever it's called. I have normal mechanical drives and Sata 3 cables.
I don't worry about WEI either, it's just that running it helped me show true CPU speed on System, otherwise all other programs shows it right.
In your WEI, I was referring to CPU score, if that processor of yours can't make 9, I don't know what would. Maybe 2 of them lol.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Mike
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home made
    CPU
    AMD Ryzen7 2700x
    Motherboard
    Asus Prime x470 Pro
    Memory
    16GB Kingston 3600
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 evo 250GB
    Silicon Power V70 240GB SSD
    WD 1 TB Blue
    WD 2 TB Blue
    Bunch of backup HDDs.
    PSU
    Sharkoon, Silent Storm 660W
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Raidmax
    Cooling
    CCM Nepton 140xl
    Internet Speed
    40/2 Mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    WD
    Country Flag
    Serbia
    State/Region Flag
    ca ontario

Dude

Active Member
Power User
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
403
Thanks CountMike, I never had to do that
It did not carry on from Win8. Win8 used to run WEI at the installation time, 8.1 does not do that.

Mine shows stock settings, and I thought that was the norm. I have ran wei, using win aero and it did not change. Would I have to use the powershell method to reflect the oc?

system info.PNG

I covered it with cpu-z but it shows it as 3.4
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dude
    CPU
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU [email protected] 4.5 GHZ Turbo
    Motherboard
    MSI Z77MA-G45 (MS-7759)
    Memory
    8.00 GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    Graphics Card(s)
    PNY GTX 760
    Sound Card
    Realtek High Definition
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Dell S23O9W, HP L1710
    Screen Resolution
    DELL-1920 x 1080 HP-1280 x1024
    Hard Drives
    Crucial m4 256 SSD WD 7200RPM 500GB
    PSU
    Seasonic X650 Gold
    Case
    Zalman Z12
    Cooling
    Antec Kuhler 920
    Keyboard
    Logitech
    Mouse
    MSI DS100 Interceptor
    Internet Speed
    50 down 5 up
    Browser
    Chrome, IE 11
    Antivirus
    Windows Defender
    Other Info
    Logitech X-620 Speakers

CountMike

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Guru
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
4,664
Location
Belgrade , Serbia
Nice OC anyway.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Name
    Mike
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home made
    CPU
    AMD Ryzen7 2700x
    Motherboard
    Asus Prime x470 Pro
    Memory
    16GB Kingston 3600
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus strix 570 OC 4gb
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 evo 250GB
    Silicon Power V70 240GB SSD
    WD 1 TB Blue
    WD 2 TB Blue
    Bunch of backup HDDs.
    PSU
    Sharkoon, Silent Storm 660W
    Occupation
    Retired
    Case
    Raidmax
    Cooling
    CCM Nepton 140xl
    Internet Speed
    40/2 Mbps
    Browser
    Firefox
    Antivirus
    WD
    Country Flag
    Serbia
    State/Region Flag
    ca ontario

dburne458

Member
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
58
Mine does not show my overclock settings either, I am running at 4.50 ghz, and windows shows stock speed.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 64 bit
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Self Made
    CPU
    I7 4820K
    Motherboard
    EVGA X-79 Dark
    Memory
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 16 gb 2133 mhz
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 770 4GB
    Browser
    IE11
    Antivirus
    Defender
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us tennessee

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top