Log On User Account Automatically at Windows 8 Startup

How to Automatically Sign in to User Account at Startup in Windows 8 and 8.1


information   Information
This will show you how to have Windows 8 or 8.1 sign in to a local user account or Microsoft account of your choice automatically at startup without the user needing to enter a user name and password.

You must be logged in as an administrator to be able to do the steps in this tutorial.

Note   Note
If you only have one user account on the computer that is not password protected, then Windows 8 will automatically log on to that account at startup by default.

warning   Warning
If you change the password for the local account or Microsoft account that you have Windows 8 set to sign in to automatically at startup, then you will need to turn off automatic log on for this user, and turn it back on to enter the new password.

If you connect though RDP (remote desktop), have automatic log in set on for your MS account and change it to a local account, then you can't sign in. RDP prompts for your user and password but doesn't accept the new one on the Windows log-in screen. You need to sign in directly (not through RDP) and turn off automatic log on for the user, and turn it back on to enter the new password.


EXAMPLE: Windows 8 Sign in Screen

Logon.jpg






OPTION ONE
To Turn On or Off Automatic Sign-in at Startup in Netplwiz

1. Press the Windows + R keys to open the Run dialog box, type netplwiz or control userpasswords2, and press Enter.​
2. If prompted by UAC, then click/tap on Yes.​
3. Do either step 4 or 5 below for what you would like to do.​
Step1.jpg

4. To Turn On Automatic Sign in for a Local User Account or Microsoft Account
NOTE: You could also use this step to change what user account you would like Windows 8 to sign-in to automatically at startup.​
A) Check the Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer box. (see screenshot below step 3)​
Note   Note
Is your PC is a member of a domain by chance, then the "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer." box will not be available.
B) Select the User Name of the local user account or Microsoft account that you want to have Windows 8 log on to automatically at startup. (see screenshot above)​
Note   Note
If this is for a Microsoft account, then you do not want to select the one that is only a member of the HomeUsers group. You would want to select the one listed that is part of both the HomeUsers and Administrators or Users group instead.
C) Uncheck the Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer box, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below step 3)​
D) Enter the password of the selected local user account or Microsoft account twice, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below)​
Note   Note
If the selected local user account does not have a password created for it, then leave the password fields empty. Microsoft accounts will always have a password.
password.jpg

5. To Turn Off Automatic Sign in for All Users
A) Check the Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer box, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below step 3)​







OPTION TWO
To Turn On or Off Automatic Sign-in at Startup in Registry Editor


warning   Warning
:busted: This option is not as secure as using OPTION ONE above.

It is recommended to use OPTION ONE above if you are able to instead. OPTION ONE will save the password in the Credential Manager where it's encrypted and cannot be viewed by anyone.

This option (OPTION TWO) will save the entered password (steps 4G-4H) in the DefaultPassword string value in Registry Editor where it can be seen by anyone with access.


1. Press the :winkey: + R keys to open the Run dialog, type regedit, and click/tap on OK.​
2. In Registry Editor, navigate to the location below. (see screenshot below)​
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon
Automatic_log_on_Regsitry-1.png

3. Do step 4 or 5 below for what you would like to do.​
4. To Turn On Automatic Sign in for a Domain, Local, or Microsoft Account
NOTE: You could also use this step to change what user account you would like Windows 8 to sign-in to automatically at startup.​
A) In the right pane on Winlogon, double click/tap on the AutoAdminLogon string value to modify it. (see screenshot below step 2)​
B) Type 1, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below)​
Automatic_log_on_Regsitry-1A.png
C) Double click/tap on the DefaultDomainName string value to modify it. (see screenshot below step 2)​
D) Type the computer name (if local) or domain name, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below)​
Automatic_log_on_Regsitry-2.png
E) Double click/tap on the DefaultUserName string value to modify it. (see screenshot below step 2)​
F) Type the user name (ex: Shawn) of the account you want to automatically be signed in to at startup, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below)​
NOTE: This will be the same name as the user account's C:\Users\(UserName) profile folder.​
Automatic_log_on_Regsitry-3.png
G) Double click/tap on the DefaultPassword string value to modify it. (see screenshot below step 2)​
NOTE: If you do not have a DefaultPassword string value, then right click or press and hold on an empty area in the right pane of the Winlogon key, click/tap on New and String Value, type DefaultPassword, and press Enter.​
H) Type the password of the user account you want to automatically be signed in to at startup, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below)​
Automatic_log_on_Regsitry-4.png
I) Go to step 6 below.​

5. To Turn Off Automatic Sign in for All Users
A) In the right pane on Winlogon, double click/tap on the AutoAdminLogon string value to modify it. (see screenshot below step 2)​
B) Type 0 (zero), and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below step 4B)​
C) Right click or press and hold on the DefaultPassword string value, and click/tap on Delete. (see screenshot below step 2)​
NOTE: If you do not have a DefaultPassword string value, then that's ok, and go to step 6 below.​
D) Click/tap on Yes to confirm. (see screenshot below)​
Automatic_log_on_Regsitry-5.png
E) Go to step 6 below.​

6. When finished, close Registry Editor.​


That's it,
Shawn


Related Tutorials



 

Attachments

  • User_Accounts.png
    User_Accounts.png
    73.5 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
Hello Yager, and welcome to Eight Forums.

You might see if going through the tutorial again and re-entering the password may help in case the password may not have been entered properly by mistake.

Hope this helps, :)
Shawn
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Lidas

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
2
Hey Brink, great and simple guide. I just wanna start of with saying I'm not a newbie with computers and I've done everything in my power and in your guide and several other sites suggestions to get this fixed but I just can't seem to get it to work.
I've followed the guide several times, checked and unchecked the box and entered the password.
I know that I'm typing in the correct password but windows still wont allow me to autologon, it's not really a big issue since my computer is more or less always on anyway but it is a bit frustrating when everything else is working so nicely.
I don't have any password requirements on from starting up from sleep or screensaver (have disabled both options), I have run the scan several times, reinstalled windows and still get the same thing:
I start the computer, get to the login screen where my microsoft account is displayed (it actually says my full name on top, then my email below) and it requires the password. I'm totally clueless as to what to do and I feel like I'll just ignore if you don't have any other tips.
Sorry for sounding like a whiner :p Hope you can help me. I'll add a screenshot from my wizwindow.
signinwindow.jpg
/lidas
 

Attachments

  • signinwindow.jpg
    signinwindow.jpg
    100 KB · Views: 13

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
Hello Lidas, and welcome to Eight Forums.

Try going through the steps again to see if it may toggle it on the second time around.

I have also added OPTION TWO to be able to use if OPTION ONE will still not work for you for some reason.

Hope this helps for now, :)
Shawn
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Lidas

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
2
Okay, I tried option one again and still no success, however i did option 2 and it works spelndidly! thank you so much for taking your time to help me :)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
You're most welcome. I'm glad to hear OPTION TWO worked for you. :)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Dawnz

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
8
This is forum is just as great as the windows 7 one. Thank you Brink!

Just added shutdown shortcut on my desktop looking at a post of yours.

windows 8.1

I tried the steps listed in your post. It seems the steps are only valid if you have a Local account and not if you signing in using the live id.

But then, the local account sign in options can be changed in 'PC settings' also. I tried the 'PC settings'way and it worked for the local account but no success anywhich way for an online live account
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
Hello Dawnz, and welcome to Eight Forums. :)

You will be able to use Option One or Option Two in the tutorial on the first page here with a Microsoft account that you created on the PC as well.

Please post screenshots of anything that you are seeing different than in the tutorial to see what may be wrong. Be sure to black out any personal information (ex: email address) in the screenshots before posting them though.

http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/2598-screenshots-files-upload-post-eight-forums.html
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Dawnz

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
8
Hello Dawnz, and welcome to Eight Forums. :)

You will be able to use Option One or Option Two in the tutorial on the first page here with a Microsoft account that you created on the PC as well.

Please post screenshots of anything that you are seeing different than in the tutorial to see what may be wrong. Be sure to black out any personal information (ex: email address) in the screenshots before posting them though.

http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/2598-screenshots-files-upload-post-eight-forums.html

Thank you Brink.

I did not create an online account. I already had a live account and I set up the computer with that. Is that the same? Because both the options hasn't worked for me.

This is what I encountered:

1. Wndows+r and netplwiz >> Unchecked the box. Clicked apply. Left the second password prompt blank.
2. Applied and restarted.
3. The system tries to connect and fails.
Next screen two keys. Click the first asks for local account username and password. Second Key - Is the online account.
4. Used the online account to log in
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
If you setup a Microsoft account on your PC that uses an email address, then you would need to enter the password twice in netplwiz for that account.

Leaving the password prompt blank would cause it to fail to automatically sign in to the Microsoft account at startup since all Microsoft accounts have a password.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Dawnz

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2014
Messages
8
If you setup a Microsoft account on your PC that uses an email address, then you would need to enter the password twice in netplwiz for that account.

Leaving the password prompt blank would cause it to fail to automatically sign in to the Microsoft account at startup since all Microsoft accounts have a password.

:dinesh: You are absolutely right! Also, The password must the be one connected to one's live account and not a new password.

Did what you wrote and now, It doesn't ask me for any password at startup! My mail app also seems to be working fine.

:thumb:
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
If you setup a Microsoft account on your PC that uses an email address, then you would need to enter the password twice in netplwiz for that account.

Leaving the password prompt blank would cause it to fail to automatically sign in to the Microsoft account at startup since all Microsoft accounts have a password.

:dinesh: You are absolutely right! Also, The password must the be one connected to one's live account and not a new password.

Did what you wrote and now, It doesn't ask me for any password at startup! My mail app also seems to be working fine.

:thumb:

Great news. :)
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

vann59

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
18
Location
Florida
It seems that the MS acct has been designated as the admin acct, so if I set it to automatically sign into the other acct then will I be unable to have full access to my settings?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    Name
    Vann
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Samsung NP510R5E-A01UB
    CPU
    INTEL CORE i5-3230M
    Memory
    6 GB
    Browser
    IE, Firefox
    Antivirus
    AVG free
    Country Flag
    USA

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
Hello Vann,

I'm not quite sure what you may mean, but whichever account you sign in to is what access rights you will have.

If the other account is not an administrator account, then you will not have full access rights.

Hope this helps, :)
Shawn
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

vann59

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
18
Location
Florida
The user accounts window looks much like the one given in the tutorial in that there is a home user account and the the home user/admin acct. I don't want to login to the MS acct in order to use my computer so perhaps I need to delete it and then set the computer to automatically login to the other remaining account which I hope would have admin status at that point. Not sure how to do that though. I don't want to say ''may I?" to login either automatically or manually. I just want them out of my business.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    Name
    Vann
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Samsung NP510R5E-A01UB
    CPU
    INTEL CORE i5-3230M
    Memory
    6 GB
    Browser
    IE, Firefox
    Antivirus
    AVG free
    Country Flag
    USA

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

vann59

New Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
18
Location
Florida
Thank you. I finally got it fixed. It was like getting chewing gum out of a very deep sneaker sole. The only other problem that remains is that for some reason I have begun to have a system dialog box appear half off screen, (at the top left of the screen) at start up. I cannot drag it into view, but it appears to be something about my battery calibration.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    Name
    Vann
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Samsung NP510R5E-A01UB
    CPU
    INTEL CORE i5-3230M
    Memory
    6 GB
    Browser
    IE, Firefox
    Antivirus
    AVG free
    Country Flag
    USA

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Yanaro

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
9
I have a question, i followed this tutorial and it worked fine for me for a while, but recently, it stops working, i have to run netwizpl again for it to work for few restarts before it stops, again...
Basically, i have to run netwizpl once every few time i restart my machine, is there anyway for me to fix this?
Thanks in advance.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i5-3470
    Memory
    Corsair 8GB

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
Hello Yanaro,

Are you getting any error messages when this happens? For example, a failed sign in, or user profile error.

Did you change your password between this happening?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Yanaro

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
9
There's no errors, also, i never changed my password, i think it stopped everytime windows update finished updating.
But i've solved my problem by changing microsoft account into local account, without password, it logs in automatically everytime i turn on my computer.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro x64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i5-3470
    Memory
    Corsair 8GB

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top