Solved Is there such a thing as an "In Place Upgrade" from W7 to W8.1?

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
If so, where is it available and how expensive is it?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,316
Hello Mike, and welcome to Eight Forums. :)

If you like, you can still upgrade to Windows 10 for free without losing anything unless noted as a compatibility issue during the checking phase. If any compatibility issues are found, you will have the chance to cancel Windows Setup at this point before starting to install Windows 10.

Upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7 for Free
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
Thank you for your feedback.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
I have found a Site to purchase W-8.0 and a Key from.
I have not found a Site to purchase W-8.1 and a Key from.
If what I have read is correct and I understand it correctly, W-8.1 with a Key is only available from Microsoft.
Is this correct?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Slavic

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
95
As far as I know (and saw in practice) the direct upgrade from Windows 7 to 8.1 isn't possible, you will have only an option to keep all user files, but not any program. To upgrade to 8.1 with keeping all software, need to use the intermediate upgrade to Windows 8.0, after that 8.0 to 8.1 is in-place upgrade without any loss. If you don't worry about installed programs, upgrade to 8.1 (which technically is a clear install with keeping %userprofile%) is the best choice. Otherwise you have two options: upgrade from 8.0 to 8.1 using ISO image / DVD or via Microsoft Store. I suggest to use ISO because Store upgrade requires preliminary installation of many 8.0 updates, which in fact are excessive and only take a lot of time.

So, the best option if you need to keep all is to upgrade to 8.0 directly using DVD or ISO and then to 8.1 the same way. Windows 8.1 image still can be downloaded from MS server, but 8.0 image is no longer available. You have to acquire DVD or look for ISO on the other websites, which isn't a simple task. However, some retail stores still can sell the outdated and unsupported Windows 8.0 DVD with the key, which is also good for 8.1. And it may be relatively cheap, esp. the upgrade version.

As for a key, it's possible to install 8.0 and 8.1 with a temporary non-suitable for retail activation key, like a KMS key, and then change it to a real retail key. Anyway the process will take less than 3 days, so non-activated system shouldn't be a problem :)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7-6700 (Skylake)
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene
    Memory
    16 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus GeForce 1050 Ti, 4 GB
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Philips 235PQ
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080 (FHD)
    Hard Drives
    Samsung SSD 950 Pro, 512 GB

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
I found a Full Retail Version of Windows 8.1 online and ordered it.
It should arrive in about a week.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

erpster4

Member
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2014
Messages
152
although a non-activated Win8.0/8.1 system will not allow Personalization options (these are grayed out until properly activated with a legit key) and a watermark appears on the lower right hand corner of the screen

but Slavic has hit the most valid points about upgrading directly from Win7 to Win8.1
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55Dt-A5306
    CPU
    AMD Quad-Core A6-5200M Accelerated Processor
    Memory
    4 GB
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
Does the Upgrade to Windows-8.1 provide any listing of what Programs will need to be reinstalled?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
I am still unsure of how to do an In Place Upgrade from 7 Pro 64 to 8.1 Pro 64.
From the response I have received, I believe I should do the following:

1.) Use 8.0 Pro 64 to do an In Place Upgrade from 7 Pro 64 to 8.0 Pro 64.
2.) Use 8.1 Pro 64 to do an In Place Upgrade from 8.0 Pro 64 to 8.1 Pro 64.

I ordered 8.0 Pro 64 and it is due to arrive 01/13/2020.
I understand 8.1 Pro 64 is available from MS as a free download.

The need for an In Place Upgrade is most important to me.
Is my understanding of the process correct?

Thanks again for all the Feedback!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,316
Hello Mike, :)

Correct, you can upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 8 without losing anything.

Upgrade Install to Windows 8 or Windows 8.1

Afterwards, you can just update from Windows 8 to 8.1 via Windows update without losing anything.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
Looks like I goofed!

I thought I could do an In Place Upgrade from 7 Pro 64 to 8.0 Pro 64.
The fine print appears to say otherwise.
I tried to go to the Site indicated however, it appears not to exist any more.
Does anyone read what the Packaging indicates any differently?

Please see the Attached Scan.
 

Attachments

  • Scan-8.0.pdf
    1 MB · Views: 2

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,316
You could create a system image backup first to be safe, then go ahead and try upgrading to see if it may let you.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
Brink,

I followed your advice and it allowed me to do an In Place Upgrade from W7 Pro 64B to W8.0 Pro 64B .

Thank you!

I will now attempt to do an In Place Upgrade from W8 Pro 64B to W8.1 Pro 64B.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
Before down loading 8.1 , 8.0 wanted to apply some Updates.

I agreed and off it went, downloading and restarting several times.

Then, it said it was Restarting but has been 'restarting for about 18 hours now.'

I do not mean constantly restart over and over for 18 hours.

I mean that for 18 hours it hasn't completed a single restart, just the wheel going round and round.

Is this normal?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,316
That is a lot longer than normal.

You could try restarting the computer to see if it may pick up where it left off, or may start over with the update.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
Would I unplug the power to stop the Restart?
The screen only shows the word Restarting and the spinning dots.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,316
You should be able to do a hard reboot by pressing and holding the power button until the computer powers off, then press and release the power button to power up.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Mike Lynch

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2019
Messages
34
I will give that a try.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows-7 64-Bit Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP
    Memory
    8GB
    Browser
    IE-11
    Antivirus
    MSE + MalwareBytes

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top