Solved How to pin file or web site to start screen

Tomel

Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
35
Location
Virginia
Playing around with Win 8 and found that it's not easy to pin a file or a web site (if you're not using IE) to the new start screen. Some have suggested downloading a nice little utility that will do the job, but I always try to avoid having a lot of single purpose, rarely used utilities.

Here's a way to accomplish the same task that I discovered by some trial and error.

Go to the desktop
Create a shortcut to an app (firefox if you want to pin a web site, excel if you want to pin a spreadsheet, etc.), giving the shortcut the name of the file or web site you want to pin to the start screen.
Once the shortcut to the app is created, right click on the shortcut, click properties
Go to the target line and add a space, then within quotes add the website or the file you want to access (if a file, add the entire file path and file name).
Click Apply
Right click the shortcut and you will now see the "Pin to Start" option. Click this option.
You can now delete the shortcut on the desktop (unless you want to keep the shortcut on the desktop and the start screen)
Go to the start screen. You will see the new shortcut which executes with a single click or touch.

Examples of a website shortcut Target line and file shortcut Target line are shown below.

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" "http://www.eightforums.com/"

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office12\EXCEL.EXE" "C:\Users\UserName\Documents\ExcelFileFolder\SampleFile.xlsx"

Hope this is useful to someone.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom Home Built
    CPU
    Intel i7-4771
    Motherboard
    ASUS Z87-Pro
    Memory
    16 Gb
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1GB
    Sound Card
    None
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Acer T232HL
    Screen Resolution
    1920 x 1080
    Hard Drives
    Primary - Samsung 840 EVO 250 Gb
    Secondary - Western Digital BLACK 1TB
    PSU
    Corsair RM 650W 80+
    Case
    Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
    Cooling
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    Keyboard
    Logitech MK520
    Mouse
    Logitech MK520
    Internet Speed
    FiOS-15Mb
    Browser
    IE11 / Firefox
    Antivirus
    Avast Free

Mystere

Power User
VIP Member
Power User
Joined
Jun 5, 2012
Messages
1,925
This is a problem with how Firefox generates the shortcuts. In Chrome, you can create an Application shortcut under options->Tools->Create application shortcut, then you can choose to pin it to the taskbar or add it to the start menu. Firefox doesn't seem to offer a way to create a real short to a page, only bookmarks.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    CPU
    Intel i7 3770K
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD4 TH
    Memory
    16GB DDR3 1600
    Graphics Card(s)
    nVidia GTX 650
    Sound Card
    Onboard Audio
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Auria 27" IPS + 2x Samsung 23"
    Screen Resolution
    2560x1440 + 2x 2048x1152
    Hard Drives
    Corsair m4 256GB, 2 WD 2TB drives
    Case
    Antec SOLO II
    Keyboard
    Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
    Mouse
    Logitech MX
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us minnesota

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,310

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

seattlerust

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
14
Location
Seattle of course
In Chrome, you can create an Application shortcut under options->Tools->Create application shortcut, then you can choose to pin it to the taskbar or add it to the start menu.

This is over a year and half old so possibly there is newer information. However, when I try this, my only options are to the desktop or the taskbar. This is so whether Chrome is opened on the desktop or in the Start Screen. Any updates available or is it just not possible to pin a web page that is open in Chrome to the Start Screen?

SR
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Dell
    Occupation
    Retired Engineer

David Bailey

Banned
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
10,485
Location
Harrisonburg, Va.

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1.1 Pro with Media Center
    Name
    David A. Bailey
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gateway
    CPU
    AMD K140 Cores 2 Threads 2 Name AMD K140 Package Socket FT1 BGA Technology 40nm
    Motherboard
    Manufacturer Gateway Model SX2110G (P0)
    Memory
    Type DDR3 Size 8192 MBytes DRAM Frequency 532.3 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    AMD High Definition Audio Device Realtek High Definition Audio USB Audio Device
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Name 1950W on AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x76
    Screen Resolution
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Hard Drives
    AMD K140
    Cores 2
    Threads 2
    Name AMD K140
    Package Socket FT1 BGA
    Technology 40nm
    Specification AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 14
    Model 2
    Extended Model 2
    Stepping 0
    Revision ON-C0
    Instruction
    Occupation
    Trying to live a good life before I die.
    Browser
    Opera 24.0
    Antivirus
    Avast Internet Security
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us virginia

Dragon Drop

Member
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
342
Congratulations, Tomel! You experimented on your own, and you figured out for yourself how to achieve the result that you wanted. I've been doing that with computers for years, and it's nice to know that I'm not the only one who does it. Over several months last winter and spring, I explored the problem of pinning data files to the Start Screen -- and also that of pinning them to the Taskbar, which is more difficult. I found many methods, and most of them used either your idea of changing a shortcut's "target" address, or some other such trick.

I tried that "Pin to 8" download too, and it works. But then I got a warning popup from my own system, telling me of some suspicious activity and naming "Pin to 8" as the culprit. So I got rid of it.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 8
    System Manufacturer/Model
    HP 23-D030
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us new york

David Bailey

Banned
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
10,485
Location
Harrisonburg, Va.
I tried that "Pin to 8" download too, and it works. But then I got a warning popup from my own system, telling me of some suspicious activity and naming "Pin to 8" as the culprit. So I got rid of it.

There's nothing wrong with Pin to 8.
You got a false positive from a faulty antivirus program.
You need to get rid of it before your computer becomes totally infected because it isn't doing it's job right.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1.1 Pro with Media Center
    Name
    David A. Bailey
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gateway
    CPU
    AMD K140 Cores 2 Threads 2 Name AMD K140 Package Socket FT1 BGA Technology 40nm
    Motherboard
    Manufacturer Gateway Model SX2110G (P0)
    Memory
    Type DDR3 Size 8192 MBytes DRAM Frequency 532.3 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    AMD High Definition Audio Device Realtek High Definition Audio USB Audio Device
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Name 1950W on AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x76
    Screen Resolution
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Hard Drives
    AMD K140
    Cores 2
    Threads 2
    Name AMD K140
    Package Socket FT1 BGA
    Technology 40nm
    Specification AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 14
    Model 2
    Extended Model 2
    Stepping 0
    Revision ON-C0
    Instruction
    Occupation
    Trying to live a good life before I die.
    Browser
    Opera 24.0
    Antivirus
    Avast Internet Security
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us virginia

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top