Solved How to change desktop taskbar time to date+time?

Win8fait

New Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
102
Location
Santa Monica, CA
(At least the Recycle Bin can be removed without a registry edit hack. These have always been my top 2 peeves of Windows.)

How please.

From the desktop view I simply want to look down and to the right to see the “Sunday, September 8, 2013 – 2:17PM” I see now ... but have to move my mouse over there and hover over it first. Why would I want to have to do that?

It wasn't possible in XP (that I know of) – not without having to expand your taskbar to twice the width. (And let's face it, there is nothing quite as intimidating as a big huge fat thick taskbar.)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Win8fait

New Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
102
Location
Santa Monica, CA
But there is no [Formats] tab on the Region window.

That is where I would go to change data & time formats across all of windows (I believe. I have Windows 8, not 8.1)

I'm looking to just change the default desktop taskbar view. No amount or right-clicking or hunting has provided me any insight.

 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Win8fait

New Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
102
Location
Santa Monica, CA
(Whoops. I had clicked on [Additional Settings] and THEN didn't have a [Formats] tab. Please disregard that small bit. I miss-replied.)

But I still don't see how changing my global Short Data format (per the instructions, which is “M/d/yyy”, to the Long Date that is shown in the screen shot) will change the default view of “3:09PM”, a value of time, to a Long date. (???)


I am so missing something basic. (1+1=2, 2+2=4, …)


Where do I tell the taskbar to use the Windows-wide “Long date” format instead of “time”?

I don't want to change the format of what I get when I hover my mouse over the time – that's perfect. I want that perfectly formatted long date hover value to show all the ..time.

[Wow. That was a hairy pun.]

It does not seem wise to force the change of the “Short time” value to a Long Date to get my taskbar to look how I want it. That global value is shared by all apps, right? But nevertheless I followed the instructions EXACTLY (..to the best of my limited abilities - but it matched the screen shot exactly anyway) and all that happens is that the desktop taskbar time - the same exact value and format just has wider lines around it - which would fit a full Long Date format.

Or maybe I have to reboot first... Hopefully the bold part above solves what exactly I'm looking for.

[Edit: Summary: my default Windows 8 desktop taskbar currently shows “3:30PM”.

I want to change that to read: “Sunday, September 8, 2013” + "3:30PM"

The hover value and time combined.]
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    State/Region Flag
    us california

xunile

Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
93
In the following picture, I have a screenshot of my win8.1 pc. I have the settings dialog open with the settings for having the day of the week, date, and year. You just have to modify the "short date", that will leave the "long date" alone, which is what you see when you hover over the top in the taskbar. If you look in the lower right corner you can see the end result. For some reason if I add one more uppercase M to the month the date disappears altogether and I only see the time, but that might be a resolution issue.
 

Attachments

  • change date time info.jpg
    change date time info.jpg
    169.5 KB · Views: 386

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7

Win8fait

New Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
102
Location
Santa Monica, CA
OK - this is the deal. I see the disconnect.

In my taskbar properties I have [Use small taskbar buttons] ticked. That jams up the expansion. If I uncheck that, the default time value (bottom right) gets the addition of a default "9/8/2013" date value under it - which you have formatted to a long date in your screen shot.

This is exactly like in XP - where you could just drag the taskbar upward and make it twice as thick. I don't want twice as thick. (Well.., actually, that would be pretty cool...) but I don't want a clunky huge icon desktop just to see the date shown all the time.

I so don't understand how this is not the most intuitive thing since the beginning - literally of the entire desktop paradigm.

I want this
----------------------------
............................3:46PM
----------------------------

to look more like this - all the time!

----------------------------
......Sunday, Sep. 8, 3:46PM
----------------------------
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    State/Region Flag
    us california

xunile

Member
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
93
My taskbar is the default size, I didn't have to drag it up. By default in Windows 7 and 8 the time is shown above the date. If you choose to check the "use small icons" box in taskbar properties you probably won't be able to get the result your looking for without jumping through hoops.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 7

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Win8fait

New Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
102
Location
Santa Monica, CA
With a 40” monitor at 1920x1080 native, it's hard to explain how goofie and rediculous large icons look when the little ones are so razor sharp.

It's hard to explain my complete indignation that in 23+ years of using Windows operating systems I still can't fit a date NEXT to the time, but am forced to double-down the already wasted taskbar space so that a small little date can be placed UNDER the time (of whatever length format) – and I have 2 Feet and 4 inches (71cm) of empty space to the left of the timestamp. It's close to 90sq cm of empty taskbar; just sittin' there being blue.

A perfectly clear little time stamp on the right – [swing head to the left 40°] - and see five little crystal clear pinned icons on the left.


All that space. No date. Not without doubling it to 180sq cm of completely wasted screen space.

And since I don't do Kafka, I have to move the mouse to hover over the time a few times a day to double confirm this GROUNDHOG DAY Windows environment date issue I live with.

(I guess the obvious cheap-shot is that Linux Mint Cinnamon does it, and always has. I'm sure others do as well.)

Words cannot explain. I had hope.

I'm going to go drink.

The horror. The horror.


:D
 

Attachments

  • GroundhogDayWindows8TaskbarNoDate.png
    GroundhogDayWindows8TaskbarNoDate.png
    1.8 MB · Views: 126

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    State/Region Flag
    us california

pcRat

New Member
Power User
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
724
Location
Bay City Michigan USA
Win8fait Here is a link Windows 8 - Tutorial Index to almost anything you think of trying in 8 and a lot more you didn't think of yet.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1
    Name
    Ron
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7-3770K
    Motherboard
    ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    Memory
    16 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    onboard
    Monitor(s) Displays
    17" 24"
    Hard Drives
    1 TB WD
    PSU
    550w
    Occupation
    Retired Truckdriver & Fence installer
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us michigan

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317
Win8fait,

Yeah, with small icons it's going to look like that when you have the taskbar at the top or bottom of your screen. If you like, you might see how moving the taskbar to the left or right side of your screen instead looks to you. It will be able to show the full date and time with it on the side when still using small icons.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

Win8fait

New Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
102
Location
Santa Monica, CA
ZenKey

Postmordem:

I've solved this problem. And in a much more Windows 8 kind of way.

I auto-hide the taskbar completley, never to be seen again, and use Winkey-C to access date/time from anywhere. Easy peasy!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Win 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    State/Region Flag
    us california

Brink

Administrator
Administrator
mvp
Joined
Jul 23, 2009
Messages
24,317

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    64-bit Windows 10
    Name
    Shawn Brink
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Custom self built
    CPU
    Intel i7-8700K OC'd to 5 GHz
    Motherboard
    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula Z390
    Memory
    16 GB (8GBx2) G.SKILL TridentZ DDR4 3200 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Sound Card
    Integrated Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
    Monitor(s) Displays
    3 x 27" Asus VE278Q
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080
    Hard Drives
    1TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2,
    250GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2,
    6TB WD Black WD6001FZWX
    8TB WD MyCloudEX2Ultra NAS
    PSU
    OCZ Series Gold OCZZ1000M 1000W
    Case
    Thermaltake Core P3
    Cooling
    Corsair Hydro H115i
    Keyboard
    Logitech wireless K800
    Mouse
    Logitech MX Master
    Internet Speed
    1 Gb/s Download and 35 Mb/s Upload
    Browser
    Internet Explorer 11
    Antivirus
    Malwarebyte Anti-Malware Premium
    Other Info
    Logitech Z625 speaker system,
    Logitech BRIO 4K Pro webcam,
    HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdn,
    Linksys EA9500 router,
    Arris SB8200 cable modem,
    APC SMART-UPS RT 1000 XL - SURT1000XLI,
    Lumia 1520 phone
    State/Region Flag
    us oklahoma

David Bailey

Banned
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
10,485
Location
Harrisonburg, Va.
Would you want this ?

Untitled.png

You can remove the windows clock.

Timekeeper « 12noon

You can tweak clock stuff.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1.1 Pro with Media Center
    Name
    David A. Bailey
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Gateway
    CPU
    AMD K140 Cores 2 Threads 2 Name AMD K140 Package Socket FT1 BGA Technology 40nm
    Motherboard
    Manufacturer Gateway Model SX2110G (P0)
    Memory
    Type DDR3 Size 8192 MBytes DRAM Frequency 532.3 MHz
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics
    Sound Card
    AMD High Definition Audio Device Realtek High Definition Audio USB Audio Device
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Name 1950W on AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x76
    Screen Resolution
    Current Resolution 1366x768 pixels Work Resolution 1366x768 pixels
    Hard Drives
    AMD K140
    Cores 2
    Threads 2
    Name AMD K140
    Package Socket FT1 BGA
    Technology 40nm
    Specification AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
    Family F
    Extended Family 14
    Model 2
    Extended Model 2
    Stepping 0
    Revision ON-C0
    Instruction
    Occupation
    Trying to live a good life before I die.
    Browser
    Opera 24.0
    Antivirus
    Avast Internet Security
    Country Flag
    USA
    State/Region Flag
    us virginia

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top