DISM with DVD?

redblade8

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
10
Hi, I'm trying to follow this guide:

I'm wondering how to do the DISM /RESTOREHEALTH command from my Windows 8 installation DVD?

For some reason I can't do it locally. It stops at 20%. I left it for a couple hours & it didn't progress further.

Do I just add /SOURCE:E: to the command shown in the video?

My installation DVD is Windows 8, but my current OS has changed to 8.1.

The reason I'm doing this is because not only does SFC say that it found corrupted files & can't fix them, but also my keyboard doesn't work.

If anyone can help me, thatd be great. Thank you! =)
- Red.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    System Manufacturer/Model
    alp001
    CPU
    intel core i7
    Memory
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Mobility 5730HD
    Country Flag
    Germany

Slavic

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
92
You should use the appropriate installation media, Windows 8.1 in your case. Windows 8 DVD isn't suitable anymore. Please download the ISO image of your particular version (home, pro or N, your language) and create the bootable USB drive. Use either:
Disc image (ISO file) from Microsoft website
Windows and Office download tool
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7-6700 (Skylake)
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene
    Memory
    16 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus GeForce 1050 Ti, 4 GB
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Philips 235PQ
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080 (FHD)
    Hard Drives
    Samsung SSD 950 Pro, 512 GB

Slavic

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
92
OK, I didn't know this. However, I suppose that downloading works only if the Internet connection is available, which isn't always possible when OS is launched from external media.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7-6700 (Skylake)
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene
    Memory
    16 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus GeForce 1050 Ti, 4 GB
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Philips 235PQ
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080 (FHD)
    Hard Drives
    Samsung SSD 950 Pro, 512 GB

Bree

Member
VIP Member
Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2019
Messages
56
Yes. DISM's restorehealth can be run from within your OS when booted normally, just as SFC can, in which case it will have internet access. A restart will be required to complete any file replacements.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    8.1
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Hyper-V

redblade8

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
10
Hi there, thanks for the replies! I've tried both safe mode, as well as normal boot mode, & dism gets stuck at image version. It doesn't even give you a percent, just stays at image version.

If I unplug from the internet, then it goes from 20% to 100%, but gives me the error that files couldn't be downloaded.

I'm going to try to make a Windows 8.1 bootable USB for DISM, & then get back to you. Then I'll try SFC again, & hopefully it won't say that it found corrupt files & was unable to repair them.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    System Manufacturer/Model
    alp001
    CPU
    intel core i7
    Memory
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Mobility 5730HD
    Country Flag
    Germany

redblade8

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
10
So, it seems DISM won't complete /RESTOREHEALTH, but it will other commands. I get the error 'source couldn't be found'.

Also, now my SFC reports that there are no file integrity errors, but my keyboard refuses to work still. It has a yellow exclamation mark in device manager.

What to do now? Thanks. =)
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    System Manufacturer/Model
    alp001
    CPU
    intel core i7
    Memory
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Mobility 5730HD
    Country Flag
    Germany

Slavic

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
92
That's better. If SFC didn't find any problem, then you have a misconfiguration, most likely something is wrong in Registry. Fixing it may not be easy if you don't have an OS backup, incl. a working copy of Registry, but you can try to remove the failed device and reinstall it. So, delete all malfunctioning devices in Device manager, then add them again (in Action menu or simply restart PC). If exclamation persists, try to change a specific driver to a generic, it often helps. If you have a USB keyboard, try to reinstall USB driver similarly in Device manager, even if it doesn't show a problem. Look at the hidden devices as well.

Also it may be helpful to remove all obsolete and non-existing devices in Device manager. Make a CMD file devices.cmd:
Code:
set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
devmgmt.msc
Then check "Show hidden" and remove the "greyed" devices in keyboard, mouse, USB and System devices.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1 Pro
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    CPU
    i7-6700 (Skylake)
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene
    Memory
    16 GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Asus GeForce 1050 Ti, 4 GB
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Philips 235PQ
    Screen Resolution
    1920x1080 (FHD)
    Hard Drives
    Samsung SSD 950 Pro, 512 GB

redblade8

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
10
Hi, thank you! I've now fixed the problem. I removed my keyboard from devices & printers, then from device manager I uninstalled it.

At the same time, I changed some registry values for my keyboard.
Mainly upperclass values so that they only read 'kbdclass' instead of a whole bunch of things.

Here is the guide that helped me:

What if keyboard is not working after Windows 10 rollback?

Method 2 & 6 done at the same time fixed my keyboard. For method 6, I searched the registry for 'ControlSet001' & then after 'ControlSet002'. Then I searched for '4D36E96B-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318.'

I tried just Method 2, but it didn't work for me, so I did 2 & 6.

Thanks again. =)
- Red.
 
Last edited:

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8
    System Manufacturer/Model
    alp001
    CPU
    intel core i7
    Memory
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Mobility 5730HD
    Country Flag
    Germany

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top