• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Deleted user account, but user folder was not deleted.


Posts
1
#1
I recently deleted a user account, and clicked yes to also delete all associated files...the user was successfully deleted, however, the user's folders/files remain, and cannot be deleted. Is it possible to associate that user's folder with a new user's login? If not, what needs to be done in order to delete the remaining user folder?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
Posts
1,870
#2
You will need to be signed on as a user that is part of the administrator account to delete the user account folder.

You can't associate the folder with a new user (well not easily) but you can copy the contents of documents, music etc to a new user.

So:

  1. Sign on as an administrator
  2. Create a new user
  3. Sign on to the new user and sign off
  4. Sign on as an administrator again
  5. Copy the data you want to the new users folder
  6. Delete the old user folder
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro Prieview x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    MacBook Pro Core2Duo
    CPU
    T7600
    Memory
    3
    Graphics Card(s)
    ATI Radeon X1600
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Internal
    Screen Resolution
    1440 x 800
    Hard Drives
    40GB
    Keyboard
    Apple
    Mouse
    Apple
    Internet Speed
    Varies
    Browser
    Various
    Antivirus
    Defender

Duncan

New Member
Posts
2
#3
Associating a new user with existing files is painful because the system says you don't own any of the files. Ownership can be changed, but it is far easier to copy the files because the new copies will be owned by the new user.
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    Windows 8.1
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model Number
    Lenovo H530
    CPU
    Intel G3240
    Memory
    4GB

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)