What's new

Solved Crashes 0x3b, 0xd1, 0x133, 0xa

simrick

Member
Member
Simrick, I am not sure it would un corrupt system files, but it would strip out third party drivers. It should work the same in 7,8 or 10.
Windows 7 Installation - Transfer to a New Computer - Windows 7 Help Forums

Okay - one more image, dinner and then I'll try it!

BTW - is there anything that driver verifier collected that I can grab for you?

If this sysprep doesn't work, I will probably reset, and if that doesn't work I will clean install tomorrow. If that doesn't work, maybe I'll upgrade to W10...LOL

EDIT: What will happen with activation? This came with W8.1Homex64 pre-loaded so I assume the key is in the BIOS. Will it pick that up when initializing?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55T-A5394
    CPU
    i3
    Memory
    6GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel HD 4000
    Browser
    FF
    Antivirus
    Defender

essenbe

Moderator
Moderator
All of my experience is with Windows 7, for that. But, if you use the Toshiba media and put in the COA key, it should automatically activate. If you do a clean install with Microsoft Media, it will still activate, but you will usually have to make a phone call.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brew - always under construction
    CPU
    i7-8700K
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    Memory
    16GB G Skill Trident X DDR4-3200C14
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3
    Sound Card
    On Board Realtek
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Asus 27" 144Hz/ 2X Asus 24"
    Screen Resolution
    1920 X 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 250 GB, Samsung 960 500 GB, 2X Samsung 850 500 GB
    PSU
    EVGA 1050 W
    Case
    Phanteks Entloo Luxe
    Cooling
    Corsair H 105
    Keyboard
    LOGITECH G510
    Mouse
    Logitech G502 & Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    Foot Messenger speed
    Browser
    ie11, Chrome, Firefox
    Antivirus
    ESET, Mbam and SAS
    Other Info
    Samsung RF711-SO1 Laptop, Windows 7 HP, i5-2410
    Dell Inspiron, Windows 8 X64

simrick

Member
Member
All of my experience is with Windows 7, for that. But, if you use the Toshiba media and put in the COA key, it should automatically activate. If you do a clean install with Microsoft Media, it will still activate, but you will usually have to make a phone call.

Yes, but doing the sysprep, will that have any effect on the activation? Or, is that one of the things we're testing out here as well?
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55T-A5394
    CPU
    i3
    Memory
    6GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel HD 4000
    Browser
    FF
    Antivirus
    Defender

essenbe

Moderator
Moderator
We're just testing whether sysprep will fix the problem. You will have to reactivate after sysprep, but it should be no big deal.

It looks like you are having a problem with Microsoft Office. The GWX should be simple to fix. Either get rid of it or upgrade to Windows 10. I would see if we can get Windows 8 running right before upgrading to 10. Any problems with 8 may be carried over to 10. If you would rather do a repair install/clean install instead of trying sysprep, I don't have a problem at all. You've spent enough time on this already. Just do a clean install of Windows 8.1 and be done with it.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brew - always under construction
    CPU
    i7-8700K
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    Memory
    16GB G Skill Trident X DDR4-3200C14
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3
    Sound Card
    On Board Realtek
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Asus 27" 144Hz/ 2X Asus 24"
    Screen Resolution
    1920 X 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 250 GB, Samsung 960 500 GB, 2X Samsung 850 500 GB
    PSU
    EVGA 1050 W
    Case
    Phanteks Entloo Luxe
    Cooling
    Corsair H 105
    Keyboard
    LOGITECH G510
    Mouse
    Logitech G502 & Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    Foot Messenger speed
    Browser
    ie11, Chrome, Firefox
    Antivirus
    ESET, Mbam and SAS
    Other Info
    Samsung RF711-SO1 Laptop, Windows 7 HP, i5-2410
    Dell Inspiron, Windows 8 X64

simrick

Member
Member
We're just testing whether sysprep will fix the problem. You will have to reactivate after sysprep, but it should be no big deal.

Well, I think I can start doing my happy dance.

:dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh::dinesh:

First I did a simple repair of Office (not the online repair). Then, I ended up doing an in-place upgrade/reinstall, with the W8.1 ISO, keeping all programs and files. Then, because the disk usage was still a problem for the first 3 minutes, I started hacking away at the program files and registry entries of Norton Anti-Theft. Remember, this program came with the computer, was never installed, would not uninstall, and would not run either. BINGO! Startup is fast, disk pegged usage drops within the first 45 seconds of reaching the desktop, and closing/opening the lid is fast to the desktop now. I am making some images now. Then I will reinstall some of the stuff I uninstalled that he needs.

It looks like you are having a problem with Microsoft Office.

Hopefully that is fixed now.

The GWX should be simple to fix. Either get rid of it or upgrade to Windows 10. I would see if we can get Windows 8 running right before upgrading to 10. Any problems with 8 may be carried over to 10.

Agreed. The last thing I want is carry-over problems. The GWX is gone for the time being. I'm sure it will be back soon enough. I will do the upgrade to W10 in a few months.

If you would rather do a repair install/clean install instead of trying sysprep, I don't have a problem at all. You've spent enough time on this already. Just do a clean install of Windows 8.1 and be done with it.

Yeah, this was a LOT of time, and a LOT of help (thanks!), but I am SO GLAD I don't have to reinstall all his programs and data...

One question: There are still a few Norton/Symantec keys in the registry that I can't delete (won't allow), so do you know how I get rid of them? I couldn't even get rid of them in safe mode.

Thanks!!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55T-A5394
    CPU
    i3
    Memory
    6GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel HD 4000
    Browser
    FF
    Antivirus
    Defender

essenbe

Moderator
Moderator

My Computers

System One System Two

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brew - always under construction
    CPU
    i7-8700K
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    Memory
    16GB G Skill Trident X DDR4-3200C14
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3
    Sound Card
    On Board Realtek
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Asus 27" 144Hz/ 2X Asus 24"
    Screen Resolution
    1920 X 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 250 GB, Samsung 960 500 GB, 2X Samsung 850 500 GB
    PSU
    EVGA 1050 W
    Case
    Phanteks Entloo Luxe
    Cooling
    Corsair H 105
    Keyboard
    LOGITECH G510
    Mouse
    Logitech G502 & Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    Foot Messenger speed
    Browser
    ie11, Chrome, Firefox
    Antivirus
    ESET, Mbam and SAS
    Other Info
    Samsung RF711-SO1 Laptop, Windows 7 HP, i5-2410
    Dell Inspiron, Windows 8 X64

simrick

Member
Member
I doubt it would get it completely, but did you try the Norton Removal Tool ?https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/home/current/solutions/kb20080710133834EN_EndUserProfile_en_us

Great news. Sounds like you may get off easier than you expected. Great work. I don't think I helped very much. You did all of the work. Great job.

Good idea. I found this and I think it helped too
Norton Anti-Theft cannot be uninstalled | Norton Community


  1. Download the Norton Removal Tool (NRT)
  2. Reboot the computer into safe mode (for windows 8.x see this page (link is external)).
  3. Uninstall any Norton Security products using NRT.
  4. From Folder options un-hide hidden files and OS protected system files (sow hidden files).
  5. Navigate to C:/Program Files and manually delete all the folders under the name Norton / Norton Installer/ Symantec.
  6. Navigate to C:/Program Files and common files and delete all the folders with the name Norton / Norton Installer/ Symantec.
  7. Navigate to C:/Program data and delete all the folders with the name Norton / Norton Installer/ Symantec.
  8. Navigate to C:/users/ (user1 / user2/user 3) delete all the folders with the name Norton / Norton Installer/ Symantec.
  9. Clear the prefetch folder.
  10. Open Regedit.
    • Make a BACKUP of your registry before making any changes!
  11. Navigate to HKCU/Software and delete all the folders with the name Norton / Norton Installer/ Symantec.
  12. Navigate to HKLM/Software and delete all the folders with the name Norton / Norton Installer/ Symantec.
  13. Run NRT once again and restart the computer.
That is all, after rebooting you may still have show NAT as being installed, but you can hide that from Programs and Features. The application is not really there and it cannot run.


Going to try the W10 upgrade now. It was trying to force it on me before I was ready....now that I've tried to do it once, it's failed......LOL
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55T-A5394
    CPU
    i3
    Memory
    6GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel HD 4000
    Browser
    FF
    Antivirus
    Defender

essenbe

Moderator
Moderator
Are all the Windows updates installed, can you run sfc and dism? If you have a 3rd party anti virus, uninstall it first. Then reinstall it after the upgrade.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brew - always under construction
    CPU
    i7-8700K
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    Memory
    16GB G Skill Trident X DDR4-3200C14
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3
    Sound Card
    On Board Realtek
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Asus 27" 144Hz/ 2X Asus 24"
    Screen Resolution
    1920 X 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 250 GB, Samsung 960 500 GB, 2X Samsung 850 500 GB
    PSU
    EVGA 1050 W
    Case
    Phanteks Entloo Luxe
    Cooling
    Corsair H 105
    Keyboard
    LOGITECH G510
    Mouse
    Logitech G502 & Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    Foot Messenger speed
    Browser
    ie11, Chrome, Firefox
    Antivirus
    ESET, Mbam and SAS
    Other Info
    Samsung RF711-SO1 Laptop, Windows 7 HP, i5-2410
    Dell Inspiron, Windows 8 X64

simrick

Member
Member
Are all the Windows updates installed, can you run sfc and dism? If you have a 3rd party anti virus, uninstall it first. Then reinstall it after the upgrade.

All done! :)
Upgraded and making system image now...sfc /scannow came out clean.

I find it troubling that, although the W10 upgrade was listed in the "optional updates", it was automatically checked to install, even though W10 was not reserved on this system.

I'll mark the thread solved. Thanks for all the help!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55T-A5394
    CPU
    i3
    Memory
    6GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel HD 4000
    Browser
    FF
    Antivirus
    Defender

essenbe

Moderator
Moderator
You're quite welcome. I'm glad you 'escaped' the Clean Install and got Windows 10 installed. I have 6 systems with the GWX icon. None of them upgraded until I told them to, so I don't know about that part.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brew - always under construction
    CPU
    i7-8700K
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    Memory
    16GB G Skill Trident X DDR4-3200C14
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3
    Sound Card
    On Board Realtek
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Asus 27" 144Hz/ 2X Asus 24"
    Screen Resolution
    1920 X 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 250 GB, Samsung 960 500 GB, 2X Samsung 850 500 GB
    PSU
    EVGA 1050 W
    Case
    Phanteks Entloo Luxe
    Cooling
    Corsair H 105
    Keyboard
    LOGITECH G510
    Mouse
    Logitech G502 & Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    Foot Messenger speed
    Browser
    ie11, Chrome, Firefox
    Antivirus
    ESET, Mbam and SAS
    Other Info
    Samsung RF711-SO1 Laptop, Windows 7 HP, i5-2410
    Dell Inspiron, Windows 8 X64

simrick

Member
Member
You're quite welcome. I'm glad you 'escaped' the Clean Install and got Windows 10 installed. I have 6 systems with the GWX icon. None of them upgraded until I told them to, so I don't know about that part.

I am so glad I escaped it too! Made things a lot easier in the end.

Yeah, I've got 3 more systems sitting here with the GWX on them of my own, and none of them have had the "optional" W10 upgrade box checked. When I found that it was checked on his laptop, (purely by accident), it tried to install even though I never reserved it. THAT was troubling; it reminded me of a W8.0 system I have which I DID NOT want to upgrade to W8.1, and yet MS FORCED that upgrade on me, without warning, (when I had no images done and did not want it), but had no choice once I logged into an administrative account. THAT was very frustrating!
 

My Computer

System One

  • OS
    W8.1 x64
    Computer type
    Laptop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Toshiba Satellite C55T-A5394
    CPU
    i3
    Memory
    6GB
    Graphics Card(s)
    Intel HD 4000
    Browser
    FF
    Antivirus
    Defender

essenbe

Moderator
Moderator
That just isn't right if they are doing that. I just wonder why they are doing some, but not all.
 

My Computers

System One System Two

  • OS
    Windows 10 Pro X64
    Computer type
    PC/Desktop
    System Manufacturer/Model
    Home Brew - always under construction
    CPU
    i7-8700K
    Motherboard
    Asus Maximus X Apex
    Memory
    16GB G Skill Trident X DDR4-3200C14
    Graphics Card(s)
    EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3
    Sound Card
    On Board Realtek
    Monitor(s) Displays
    Asus 27" 144Hz/ 2X Asus 24"
    Screen Resolution
    1920 X 1080
    Hard Drives
    Samsung 960 250 GB, Samsung 960 500 GB, 2X Samsung 850 500 GB
    PSU
    EVGA 1050 W
    Case
    Phanteks Entloo Luxe
    Cooling
    Corsair H 105
    Keyboard
    LOGITECH G510
    Mouse
    Logitech G502 & Logitech Wireless
    Internet Speed
    Foot Messenger speed
    Browser
    ie11, Chrome, Firefox
    Antivirus
    ESET, Mbam and SAS
    Other Info
    Samsung RF711-SO1 Laptop, Windows 7 HP, i5-2410
    Dell Inspiron, Windows 8 X64

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top