IW849

Male, 28 years old.

I've been using computers since primary school, some billenia ago. I've been into computer hardware since I was about 16 years old. I didn't have the Internet until my early 20s, so a lot of what I know from that time, was typically trial and lots of error; as a result, I'm relatively decent at troubleshooting!

Some areas I'm particularly knowledgeable about:

1. Gaming
2. Computer hardware; standard and gaming. (building and part replacement)
3. Windows OS management.
4. Tweaking for performance or preference.
5. Some knowledge and experience of creating and hosting a website, particularly via a phpBB forum.

Some areas I suck in, typically due to lack of experience or interest:

1. I know next-to-nothing about watercooling.
2. I'm not fantastic with networking, but I know bits and bobs.
3. Running a web server from home using Windows or Linux. Always wanted to, never tried. Plan to give it a shot in the future.
4. Mac; no interest in it. I know some things due to research, but otherwise just prefer to stick with Windows and occasionally dot about in Linux.

Operating systems I've owned and used a fair bit:

RISC
MS-DOS
Windows 95
Windows 98
Windows 98 Second Edition
Windows XP
Windows 7
Windows 8.1
Linux Mint (15 and a bit of 16, with XFCE and KDE)
Linux Ubuntu
Android

Fitness, Guitar, German, English, Computers, Games
Location
England, United Kingdom
OS
Windows 8.1, x64
Computer type
PC/Desktop
System Manufacturer/Model
Custom Build
CPU
Intel i5 4690K @ Stock
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-K
Memory
Corsair XM3 DDR3 1600MHz @ 1333MHz
Graphics Card(s)
ASUS 760 OC @ Stock
Sound Card
Onboard
Monitor(s) Displays
[1] ASUS, 23", AH-IPS, 16:9 [2] Samsung TV, 20", LCD TFT, 16:9
Screen Resolution
[1] 1920 x 1080, 60Hz [2] 1680 x 1050, 60Hz
Hard Drives
Internal: 500GB, 1TB, (plus SanDisk, SATAIII, 120GB SSD)
External: 250GB USB2, 1TB External USB3
PSU
Corsair TX750 Enthusiast Edition
Occupation
Student, otherwise N/A
Case
Zalman Z11
Cooling
Air - 9 Total Fans
Keyboard
Xebec Media Line
Mouse
Logitech Optical
Internet Speed
Approx. 550KBps DL, 100KBps UL (EE)
Browser
Firefox
Antivirus
Kaspersky Internet Security
Other Info
It's "tower," not desktop!
Country Flag
UK
State/Region Flag
uk scotland

Signature

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
\_ something epic goes here... _/
Top