It appears, if you have done an 8.0 to 8.1 update since approximately June 1, the Recovery operations are now being handled in a Recovery Folder on the OS partition. Seems it has gone back to the Windows 7 type operation, and possibly it has changed due to the expected arrival of another large update.

The problem this presents for folks on the forum is the multiple configurations that might be seen in a Disk Management window. You may have a system that has the 350 MB or 450 MB Recovery partition which has been Reset to 8.0 and then updated again. The extra Recovery partition is not deleted, or at least I don't think it would be, which will make it hard to discern the exact configuration of the install....

Hopefully, if there is another 8.1 type update, it will be handled differently.