VHD or VHDX files will only stay attached as a drive for the current session of Windows 8. When you restart
or shut down
the computer, any attached VHD or VHDX files will automatically be unmounted/detached
as a drive from Computer.
You will just need to mount/attach
the VHD or VHDX file(s) again to have it displayed as a drive in the Computer window again until the next restart. No need to create another new VHD or VHDX file.
or switching user
, will not affect any mounted/attached VHD or VHDX file(s).