This does not work with USB 3.0 removable drives. It only worked with USB and USB 2.0 removable drives for me.
When you set up to save your music, pictures, and/or videos to be saved to a removable drive by default, Windows will create a folder for each (if not already created from before) on the removable drive like below. Don't worry, the removable drive will not be formatted.
Windows will now set each folder on the removable drive as your default save location
for each corresponding library
like below for only whenever you have the removable drive connected.
Whenever you have the removable drive connected, and you save a file into your Music, Pictures, and/or Videos library, the file will be saved to the corresponding folder on the removable drive by default. Files saved to removable drive will remain on the removable drive, and are only accessible on the removable drive when it's connected.
Whenever you disconnect the removable drive, Windows will go back to saving files to the default save location you had set for the library before until you connect the removable drive next. Any files saved in your previous default save location will remain there, and will not be copied or moved to the removable drive whenever it's connected.
If you set to "stop saving here
" in step 5 below, then the folders on the removable drive will no longer be used as your default save location until you set up to save your music, pictures, and/or videos to be saved to a removable drive again.