How to Delete your "Search Charm" History in Windows 8 and Windows 8.1

information   Information
Your searches in the Search charm will be saved by default in Windows 8.1 or if turned on in Windows 8 and will be displayed as future search suggestions under the search box in the Search charm flyout. These search suggestions is your search history.

This tutorial will show you how to delete and clear the search history you typed in the search box in the Search charm for apps, settings, files, web images, and web videos in your user account in Windows 8 and Windows 8.1.

Note   Note
Deleting your Search charm history doesn’t delete the search history that particular apps themselves save. For info about deleting search history in an app, look on the app developer's website or in help for that app.


EXAMPLE: Search Charm Flyout

Click image for larger version






OPTION ONE
To Clear Search History in Windows 8

1. Open PC Settings.

2. Click/tap on Search on the left pane of PC settings, then click/tap on the Delete history button in the right pane under Search history in Windows. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

3. You will now see Done! appear to the right of the Delete history button indicating that your search history has just been deleted. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

4. You can now close PC settings if you like.






OPTION TWO
To Clear Search History in Windows 8.1

1. Open PC settings, and click/tap on Search & apps on the left side. (see screenshot below)

Click image for larger version

2. Click/tap on Search on the left side in "Search & apps", click/tap on Clear on the right side under Search history, and click/tap on Clear in the pop-up. (see screenshots below)

Note   Note
If using Bing to search is turned off, then this will only clear your local search history.

If using Bing to search is turned on, then this will clear your local search history and the search history stored by Bing that's used to personalize your Windows search experience.


Click image for larger version

Click image for larger version

3. You will now notice a check mark to the right of the Clear button to indicate your search history has been cleared. The check mark will only remain there while this screen is currently opened. If you close and reopen it, the check mark will be gone. (see screenshot below)

Name:  Search_History_Cleared.jpg
Views: 7890
Size:  21.4 KB


4. You can now close PC settings if you like.


That's it,
Shawn