I was having trouble with my network shares, I would set a share in Advanced Sharing and go into Share and the settings would be reversed to something totally different. It was happening every single time and I was getting tired of it so I went into Advanced Sharing and just made it R/W Everyone except on the network it showed Read Only. I had a bad feeling so I went into Share and sure enough it was listed as Read Only.

I was told elsewhere, while troubleshooting the first problem, that Share and Advanced Sharing are the same thing one is just the simplified interface and in fact it can be disabled in lieu of the Advanced Sharing. If that's true why don't they have the same information and why does one seem to override the other.